Oh, Christmas tree

I love baking and have been baking treats for a long time whenever there is a party or gathering of some sort. When I found out about cake pops, I hopped right on that wagon! I just wanted to share a quick tutorial of how to make cake pops, and tis the season for Christmas themed desserts of course, these are some Christmas tree cake pops I made!

IMG_9794 IMG_9798

Bake your cake (as you would any cake). After it is cooled completely, crumble the cake up. I use my hands, but you can use a food processor as well.

IMG_9811 IMG_9816

Here’s the fun part. After the cake is crumbled, dump in the frosting and mix it like you would meatloaf until it looks similar to the photo on the right. You want it to be able to hold a shape. You may need to add frosting if it will not hold up.

IMG_9819 IMG_9926

Now shape your tree pops! It’s easier than it may seem at first; just shape them into cones. After shaping, refrigerate the cake pop. I like to keep them in overnight, or you can put them in the freezer for an hour or so. When you begin to dip them into the melted candy melts, I recommend only taking a few out of the freezer at a time. If the cake pops warm up too much, they will not stay on the sticks and fall apart. After they are fully coated, decorate with mini kisses candies or sprinkles.

IMG_9921

IMG_9933

Side note: lollipop sticks and Styrofoam can be found at Michaels. They are both imperative in displaying cake pops, but I hope one day soon to find something a little sturdier. I always put them back in the refrigerator after they are done until I am ready to serve them.

I’ve also made ice cream cone and cupcake cake pops!

229356_10150174753682234_513137233_7480922_2507471_n 198014_10150110784172234_513137233_7109618_5789283_n

If you are interested in learning more, visit Bakerella to review her tutorials and videos. If you really love cake pops, I recommend her book!

*Bloglovin’ * Facebook * Twitter

27 comments
  1. Bonnie said:

    These are soooo adorable!Happy Holidays!

    xoxo,

    Bonnie

  2. The trees are so cute.. hope you had a great holiday weekend.

  3. heather said:

    OOOO How adorable!!! I love baking too! The weekend before last the bf and I went on our huge Christmas baking binge where we baked: chocolate chip cookies, peanut butter blossoms, gingerbread men (and woman lol), sugar cookies, and chocolate chip with almond and coconut cookies. Your apt looked like a mini factory lol

  4. ziah said:

    Cute and delicious. Please don’t forget to visit LIFO.com. It is a fun site for girls that has a virtual closet feature which allows you to upload your own personal closet and create outfits you can share with friends.

  5. Neris said:

    WOW! these look so amazing and i bet they taste great too!

    Hope you are having great holidays 🙂

    xxx,

    Fashion Fractions

  6. Lauren said:

    Those are the cutest things i’ve EVER seen! I dont think I would want to eat them because they are so cute! 🙂

  7. teddi said:

    wow! i’ve only seen round cake pops. you are quite the baking queen.

    • Honestly, I can barely eat it after I make it. I feel like working so hard on it (and smelling it for the couple hours you’re working on it) makes you a little adverse to it haha Try it!

  8. Roseanne said:

    look so yummy!
    will definately try!
    x

  9. Kori said:

    These are the cutest sweets ever!!!

  10. Marloes said:

    Yummy! I have a high tea soon. I would like to make this but do you know more funny shapes?
    And thnx for your comment on my blog!

    • If you go to bakerella.com, you’ll find a lot more shapes for cake pops! 🙂

  11. SO cute. I’ve seriously always wondered about how cake pops were made, but never thought to look it up. Thank you for this little tutorial! 🙂

I adore each comment!

