Hello again

I’m back from my un-official blog break! I have been pretty quite since Christmas and New Years; for good reasons. I like to enjoy holiday activities and spend time with family and friends and as amazing as the internet and blogging is for sharing, discovering new things, and bringing people together, it is always nice to take a step back, breathe, and enjoy the simple things in life.

Now it’s time to take a deep breath and step back into reality and the routine of everday life.

Well, it’s a new year. Do you make resolutions?

IMG_0308-out
*Sweater: Thrifted. *Jeans: Wet Seal Β *Necklace: Forever 21. *Boots: Target

Honestly, I can’t remember the last time I made a resolution. There is too much pressure surrounding New Year’s resolutions for me. If I want to change something in my life, I do it when I feel the need to; no need to wait until a new year. I always feel that my birthday is a new year anyway, so I usually find myself making changes around that time instead. I hold no judgement against anyone who partakes in that tradition, but it’s just not for me.

IMG_0291-out
I am in love with this sweater. For several reasons that really boil down to one reason; it’s comfortable. Also, it was $3 at Goodwill. I am telling you, if you are looking for oversized cozy sweaters, check out Goodwill or Salvation Army. Not only will they definitely have them, but they will be cheap. I suggest going anytime they have a 50% off sale, which is every holiday (and sometimes random other times, so keep an eye out).
IMG_0332-out
We had to switch locations because unless my boyfriend was standing on a ladder, he couldn’t get many shots without the house next door showing. Also, I stole this necklace from his stash of photoshoot props. When he got it, I thought it was super ugly. Then I put it on and kept asking him if I could “borrow” it, while unbeknownst to him, “borrow” really meant eventually luring him into giving it to me.
IMG_0340-out
Now that we have the resolution talk out of the way, what did you do to celebrate the New Year? As I said before, we went to Big Bear (a ski resort in Southern California) and rented a house for four days. It was so much fun to be with friends and only have to worry about having fun. We went sledding, skiied (my first time), watched movies, spent time in the hot tub, and ate a lot of food! It was definitely the most fun I’ve had on New Years!

IMG_0364-out

I hope that this new year brings happiness and success to you all!

p.s. I am trying to learn to take, or rather like, pictures in which I smile. I really am not as somber and serious as I look in all my photos – quite the opposite actually!

All photos credit of Ugly Mug Photography

*Bloglovin’ * Facebook * Twitter*

94 comments
  1. Sarah said:

    I love your jumper, it was such a bargain too! Your necklace goes great with it as well. I’ve not made any new years resolutions apart from to blog more (but that’s not really a new years resolution, more that I am trying to push myself and new year coinsided with my blogging return!) xo

  2. Chelsea said:

    I really like your hair styled that way- I’m having a bit of hair envy! I’m growing my out again and can’t wait until I can put it back on top of my head again. I love that necklace and I’d say that sweater was certainly a worthwhile $3 investment πŸ™‚

  3. Ugh, I am in LOVE with that sweater/necklace combo!

    You know it only occurred to me the other day that I didn’t make any New Year’s resolutions. I’m with you. You should make changes throughout the year if you’re feeling it. Why save them all up for one day?

  4. Sarah said:

    I really love your sweater. It looks absolutely perfect. All I’d want to do all day is curl up in it and read. Or stare blankly at the wall. Either way, at least I’d be cute doing it. Have a great New Year!
    Sarah
    http://comingunstitched.blogspot.com

  5. Heather said:

    I love that necklace! The whole look is super cute! Smiling in photos isn’t always as easy as it seems like it would be. I think all your pics are lovely! Have a great day!

  6. Ooh I am loving this outfit! I’m all about big comfy sweaters!!
    I’m not much of a resolution maker either, I can never keep them anyway, ha ha. For new years I did absolutely nothing…I’m boring like that πŸ˜‰
    (you have a new follower πŸ™‚ )
    http://www.closet-fashionista.com/

  7. I love a Goodwill sale! Great for furniture too!

  8. Toni said:

    gorgeous sweater hun! i love 50% off wednesday’s at the SA. πŸ™‚ speaking of wednesday, i might have to make a little trip there tomorrow.

  9. amazing jumper,and love the necklace!…hey,thanks for your lovely comment!…if you want,we can follow each other?:)

    beainfashion.blogspot.com

  10. Cassie said:

    That is a great necklace! And I have to say you are lucky to have a photographer boyfriend. Your pictures are beautiful!!

    • Thank you! I am lucky – unfortunately we are also long distance. Luckily, we have seen a lot of each other because of the holidays but I’m not sure what I will do when I run out of his pictures to post haha

  11. Emma said:

    love the necklace with the sweater, i really pulls the outfit together.
    as for those resolutions for your birthday, i think that’s a great idea! definitely going to do that this year!

    jemmza.blogspot.com

  12. Thanks for visiting my blog!
    I love that sweater, and the necklace is nice too. I usually make resolutions around the start of every new school year or semester more so than for the new year.

  13. ~that’s a great necklace but I can see how it took you a little bit to warm up to it,
    my first time here, great blog, definitely worth a follow!
    BerryHaute

  14. Donna said:

    Gorgeous photos, I love your sweater a lot! And I agree with you, I don’t make new years resolutions since its too much pressure trying to change while adapting into a new year. I do make goals though, which are a lot easier to achieve πŸ™‚

    Also, thanks so much for your lovely comment on my blog!

    http://borrowedwardrobe.blogspot.com

  15. Thanks for visiting my blog! I like Forever 21 jeans. I have had these red ones (and also a pink pair) for 3+ years and I love them. For $20 ish dollars can’t go wrong!

  16. mode said:

    lovely blog. and i’m with you- i don’t make resolutions. internal change comes when you’re ready, not just becaue the calendar rolls over.
    ❀ mode.
    http://modestylist.blogspot.com

  17. lucille said:

    I love this massive jumper, so cosy! Amazing necklace too, great blag haha. I really don’t know how I feel about resolutions, I have such little will power anyway, I always always say I’ll lose weight though but I think I say that all year!

    wishfulsinfulyou.blogspot.com

  18. love the necklace, in the first pic you look like kate beckinsale………are we following each other yet……cause I think we should and I am…………xx

    hushhushcloset.blogspot.com

  19. Isabel said:

    I totally love it!
    This necklace is amazing πŸ™‚

    xx Isabel

  20. Isa said:

    Love your outfit! You look amazing like always… πŸ™‚

    xox,
    Isa

  21. Lyana said:

    Love this outfit, looks like such an easy default outfit. And I agree with you as well, I’m not really a resolutions kind of person, I set goals for myself whenever I want. I really enjoy your blog πŸ™‚ Going to be your new follower!

  22. Alba said:

    Thank you for your comment, maybe if you want you can buy them online, that’s what I did, because in the stores you can only buy them in brown πŸ˜‰

    Love your sweater πŸ™‚

    xo

    http://voguesweetvogue.blogspot.com/

  23. Bianca said:

    you’re SO gorgeous!!! happy new years to you babes and thanks for all your support and kindness in 2011, means everything! Big love! X

    • I don’t believe that! If you’re oversized on the top, make sure and wear skinny jeans (or shorts!) on the bottom πŸ™‚

  24. Happy new year – I love the necklace you pinched from your bf! πŸ™‚ I love alllll things stag related!

    I havent made any resolutions but do intend to get my arse back into gear after a non-gyming few months!

    Sadie xx
    http://whatsadiedid.blogspot.com/

  25. nico said:

    Love these photos and your beautiful writing! I started following you via bloglovin and gfc, hope we can follow each other on our adventures!

    -Nico

    http://www.SatinAndSalt.com

  26. why am i just now finding your blog. you are absolutely stunning girl, and your outfit is just perfect. i’m totally obsessed with that necklace, the oversized sweater, and the minimal (if at all) make-up. perfection.
    and you are so right, resolutions can come at any time, and your birthday sounds like the best time. your life is really starting over with a brand new age to match. LOVE!
    xo TJ

  27. Daysha said:

    Very cute comfy-looking outfit! Happy New Year! Love your style πŸ™‚ Thanks for your comment πŸ™‚ xo

  28. Lauren said:

    oh my gosh that jumper is so nice! you’re so pretty
    i love your pictures πŸ™‚

    lausloft.blogspot.com

  29. N.Elle said:

    Thnx for your comment πŸ™‚ nice outfit!!

    xo,
    themagicstyle-by-nari.blogspot.com/

  30. I’m so in love with this look. πŸ™‚ Thrifting is my favorite way to find my clothes. And I think the necklace is adooorable. I’m definitely going to follow you on Bloglovin’. ❀

  31. Sarah said:

    goodwill sweaters are the best! and that one looks soooo comfy. i do make new years resolutions, but they’re always awesome ones. last year, i resolved to get a massage once a month, and this year i’m resolving to get more pedicures. πŸ™‚

  32. I rarely ever write down a resolution because I usually don’t stick to them…however, I really like the idea of a 23 before 24 list (or whatever age you’ll be next) so I think I may try that! Kind of like a resolution, kind of like a bucket list. It seems like a fun idea. πŸ™‚

    Love the sweater and necklace! Goodwill is the absolute best for sweaters – last time, I walked out with 6, and none of them cost more than $3.50. It was awesome, and some of those sweaters are now my favorites!

  33. bee said:

    ahh i love your sweater and necklace
    much love from beemod ❀
    beemod.blogspot.com

  34. i always love a big knit paired with black skinny jeans! x

  35. Thank you for your comment! What a great look and that amazing necklace. I absolutely get what you are saying about liking pictures where you smile… For some reason I have this notion that a fashion blogger should gaze off into the distance and all pictures should have an aerial feel to them, it’s a hard to shake it off. Something I have to work on. Great blog!
    β™₯ SunshineCitizen

    • Haha exactly! Which is funny though because I do follow a lot of fashion blogs where the girls smile and have fun pictures… and in normal pictures with friends I always smile!

  36. Charity said:

    ooh, I love this outfit! The slouchy sweater is perfect with the jeans, and the necklace just adds the perfect touch. Too cute!

  37. love this look!!! camel and black always a great choice! and loving the necklace! πŸ˜‰

  38. fitness said:

    I am impressed with this web site , real I am a big fan .

  39. sklee26 said:

    love the oversize sweater with the necklace.
    great outfit!
    – psymahn

  40. Love the sweater and necklace! Thanks for visiting and I look forward to seeing many more pretty things from you in the future!
    xo Hannah

  41. I agree, new years resolutions are a little unnecessary.
    I do adore your deer necklace!

  42. Emily said:

    Great find, I love oversized sweaters and definitely love them more if they are 3$!

  43. Crystal said:

    I love chunky oversized sweaters! It looks so comfy and warm! Mmm..

  44. Adorable! You are so photogenic! I need a roomy top. Looks too comfy πŸ™‚ xo

    And shout out to another WordPress blogger!!

    Kristina
    Something 2 Write About

  45. Cute outfit and your hair looks so pretty!

    XOXO
    Camille @ The Wild Fleur

  46. I just added this site to my feed reader, great stuff. Can’t get enough!

  47. Like your style!!!

    Welcome to my stylethisworld.blogspot.com!!! Will be very glad to see u like my reader!

    Wish u a nice weekend!

I adore each comment!

