Fur for me

When you decide to step out of your comfort zone and wear something you have never worn, but have always liked it on other people, do you ever like it at the time and then realize laterΒ maybe it’s not for you? This is that time I think. It might just be the way I styled it, but I’m not sure how much I’m liking the fur vest. I think it was because I was trying to “copy” a look instead of taking a piece and making it my own. Yeah, that might just be it, because now I’m restyling it in my head it it looks much better in my head haha What do you think?

IMG_0952-out*Vest & Necklace: Forever 21. Jacket: Marshalls. Pants: Macys. Shoes: Target. Shirt: Wet Seal

I was inspired by Andrea at Blonde Bedhead with this look. I’ve always wanted to get a (faux) fur vest and when I saw this one on sale I figured I might as well, even though I had no idea how I could pull it off without feeling like a giant fur ball. Then I saw that Andrea put hers on over a jacket, and figured that might be cute, so of course I proceeded to steal her idea. be inspired by her.

I think she totally rocked her look. I think I need to try again.

IMG_0943-out

This next picture totally cracks my shit up. It looks like there was a fan below me. I’m not too sure how this came about but I thought it was too funny not to share.

IMG_0918-out

I am obsessed with these shoes by the way. I would wear them everyday if I could. Well I can, but I won’t. I secretly want to. I guess it’s not a secret anymore!

IMG_0959-out

Oh and, I’m going to Coachella this year for the first time. I’m super estactic to just be able to get out of town for three days, camp, be a total hippie, and not have to worry about anything but listening to music. But until then, I need to worry about shopping and what I’m going to wear; all out boho style for sure!

IMG_0876-out

I’m going to San Jose this weekend for Christmas. Yes, Christmas! My mom’s extended family is scattered so we have always gotten together with them on this three day weekend for another little Christmas. We eat, watch movies, go shopping; so it’s pretty much always guarenteed to be a fun time!

All photos credit of Ugly Mug Photography

*Bloglovin’ * Facebook * Twitter

58 comments
  1. Vivie | Producer said:

    I adore your casual looks.

  2. Ellie said:

    Love it!! Great combination with the parka and fur!!! This just inspired me;)

    fashionwithellie.blogspot.com

  3. Kyla said:

    I think this totally works! I really like it – and I have that exact jacket! Merry Belated Christmas! I hope that means mooooore presents!!

    • Oh it definitely means a few more gift cards, hence the shopping we do πŸ˜‰ haha Thanks Kyla! I adore your blog πŸ™‚

  4. karolina said:

    hey,
    Thank you for stoping by at my blog!!
    I have this same vest from F21 πŸ™‚ and I like the way you mixed it with military jacket!!
    xxo

  5. Darling, you look beautiful in that fur coat and there are so many ways to style it! Its a good buy! Have fun on your camping trip and that ‘christmas’ party! Xx

  6. Isa said:

    Amazing jacket! You look gorgeous

    xox,
    Isa

  7. HAHA! thats how I felt with my big poofy leopard print coat! But I like the little fur vest in this look! you look great! have a fun weekend!

  8. Linda said:

    Haha, this is so funny because I was inspired by Andrea’s very same post! In fact, I took pictures today and am planning on uploading them tomorrow and mentioned her post in mine.
    I love faux fur! It looks awesome on you, you totally rocked it. πŸ™‚

    http://www.trendyteal.blogspot.com

  9. Oh, Christmas in January sounds like fun!! As does Coachella!!! So amazing πŸ™‚ I need to get myself out there one of these days for Coachella.

  10. Jessica said:

    I actually really like this outfit! The fur vest over the jacket is a great look, and those shoes go perfectly with it as well. I like that picture of you with the “wind machine” hehe!

  11. I love the fur vest and the way it fits! I recenlty bought one as well – and am not sure about it either….

    gabrielle

    gabrielleindenver.blogspot.com

  12. Vanessa said:

    i really like how you styled the vest! but i can’t wait to see more with it. and I am super jelly bean about you going to Coachella fest!!! omg!

  13. annabel said:

    you look great! that coat is basically perfect πŸ™‚

    pepperandchips.blogspot.com

  14. I love fur vests at the moment but not sure it’s for me, like you, I see on others and then am not sure what I would wear it with! I think the colour works great with your khaki coat, maybe its just the length….? I saw Olivia Palermo with a beautiful feather like fur long length vest belted over a 3/4 sleeve dress and posted it on Pinterest, love this look.(http://pinterest.com/pin/243898136039351159/)

    http://paulatasker.squarespace.com/

  15. I’ve also really been wanting to try out that whole fur vest thing.. I think you pulled it off well! But I think I would feel the same way if I were try it.

    p.s. I gave you a blog award. πŸ™‚

  16. Jessica said:

    That coat rules and I love your hair! Ugh! I wish mine would grow so I could rock that look! So jealous.

  17. Chelsea said:

    I love how you layered the faux fur vest over the jacket- the colours look fantastic together. Where ever it is you live, I’m super jealous of the greenery! I’m working up the nerve to go and take outfits in -15 degrees Celsius (aka 5 degrees)!

  18. Jupe said:

    Absolutely adore these photos, you look great! Wonderful styling idea to put a jacket under the fur vest…especially like the way you made that pop by just styling the skinny black underneath. It’s got an edge!

    ❀ Cambria
    jupefashion.blogspot.com

  19. Ali said:

    As someone who is currently obsessed with faux fur (and also wearing a fur vest today!) I can safely say I love this look! You look adorable! Love the combo of the olive green and the fur!

    Ali
    http://editorialistyle.blogspot.com/

  20. Isabel said:

    I really like this Outfit πŸ™‚
    And I love your shoes πŸ™‚

  21. LOVE this layered mix! A fur over utility jacket is so glamorous and chic! Great move!

    Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving such awesome comments, hope to see you back soon!

    xo-Julie
    Peace. Love. LOL!

    Haute Khuuture.com

  22. Lisanne said:

    I really like the way you’ve styled it, but if you don’t feel comfortable, I’m sure you’ll find another amazing way to rock it! I also adoorrreee your hairstyle here!

    http://styleservings.blogspot.com/

  23. Amanda said:

    I adore that vest! Thanks for stopping by my blog by the way, I greatly appreciate it! πŸ™‚
    -Amanda

  24. Molly said:

    Hi! Your comment on my blog really made my day, thank you πŸ™‚ I’m liking your blog a lot!

    xx

    mollyeeb.blogspot.com

  25. I think it looks great on you! I would have never put it with that jacket, so I think you totally made it your own.

  26. Annie said:

    LOVE this look! The vest over the jacket looks awesome – Andrea is definitely inspirational…and your hair looks great πŸ™‚

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

  27. I love the fur vest over the jacket! What a great idea!!

  28. bunnie said:

    I know what you mean about styling an outfit, taking a picture, looking at it and going.. hmmmm no. But I think you wore the furry vest very well! It looks great. I’d look at you twice if I saw you walking down the street. πŸ˜‰ I’m sure you’ll come up with some other awesome ways to wear this! As for your boots, love them too!

  29. Mica said:

    Great look! I think your outfit looks fantastic but the fun of fashion is you can wear it differently next time πŸ™‚

    Your hairstyle is awesome too πŸ™‚

    awayfromtheblue.blogspot.com

  30. Don’t second guess yourself girl, the fur vest looks amazing! I love the way you styled it with the earth tones, such a great casual but chic look.

    Alexandra xo

    http://tovogueorbust.com/

  31. Teehee! I LOVE this on you! You crazy thinkin’ you didn’t pull this off. I love how it’s cropped and it layered over the army jacket. You rocked this, lady and I NEED those boots in my life. And you don’t look funny at all in the photo with your hair blown, looks straight out of a mag.

    • Aw thanks so much Andrea! That means a lot to me coming from you!
      P.S. Target.com has a larger (and better) shoe selection than the stores.. that’s where I got the boots πŸ™‚

  32. Fatima said:

    Thank you for your comment!!

    Love this outfit!! xx

  33. LOVE YOUR COAT AND THE AMAZING COLOR OF IT!
    XOXO,
    FASHIONHYPNOTISED GIRL

  34. vibeke said:

    I think you look great, but one always have to stay true to one’s style πŸ˜‰ Love your jacket btw.!

  35. Jelena said:

    Parka is excellent but that fur part is my favorite!;)
    xoxo
    Jelena

  36. Jessica said:

    Thank you for your nice comment on my blog, I am so excited to check out yours. I actually really really like the fur vest over the jacket look, and think you are totally rocking it! keeping the rest of the look classic makes this style totally real-world instead of crazy runway!

    and can we talk about how incredibly jealous I am that you are going to Coachella!? You better be reporting on all the fabulous hippie/boho fashion going down for all of us that can’t be there! I am debating between attending Bonnaroo or Hang Out Fest this year…
    xx

    • I am just as excited for the fashion as I am the music! haha I will definitely be taking a lot of pictures to share! My dad worked security at Bonnaroo once and said it’s insane, so that must be a good one to go to! Haha Of course, it depends on the lineup.

  37. AG said:

    Love!

I adore each comment!

