The one with the big hat

I bought a hat. A really big hat. I am in love with it. I also have no idea how to style it or where to wear it. It’s not like I can just take this baby to the movies or the grocery store. This is a special hat. It needs to be seen somewhere special. Maybe Coachella? Maybe a tropical vacation?

Where would you wear a big, floppy, amazing hat? What kind of outfit would you wear it with?

IMG_9588-out(1)

*Hat: Gap

Feel free to share your ideas and leave me links to inspiration for styling this hat. I hope to be able to use it all to create an outfit around this hat because it needs to be seen in all it’s glory and given a proper outfit post.

P.S. Did you notice my reference to Friends?

Photo credit of Ugly Mug Photography

*Follow Seeking Style*

*Bloglovin’ * Facebook * Twitter

116 comments
  1. Shanele said:

    i love it! I have a big black felt hat similar to yours. I’ve only worn it once (during fashion week in New York) but need to figure out other ways to wear it as well. I saw a girl at Zara today just wearing it with a camel coat..looked very chic!

  2. Amanda said:

    I adore your hat! I definitely need to get one like that for the summer! And thanks for the kind words you left on my blog! πŸ™‚

  3. Lauren said:

    You are such an utter babe in this hat! I have two similar ones in light pink and nude that I just adore and wear all the time! x

    Lauren of Someone Like You.

  4. Love the hat! I think it would be cute with some dark colored skinny jeans tucked into tall boots (which have a chunky heel) and an over-sized sweater. πŸ™‚

  5. luvvleighb said:

    Btw… A while ago you recommended the hipster bride blog for wedding inspiration! I don’t think I ever thanked you! Thanks!
    Love the hat!
    Luvv, Leigh B

  6. heather said:

    I loveeee floppy hats!! I have one in black that is just RIDIC floppy that I barely wear but I have another one in burnt orange that I wear a lot more often. I wear my hats to work since I spend more days in the office then out. I would totally rock it with a pair of leather leggings and a sheer top or lace top. Or even a pair of cut offs and some high heel booties.

    You can see how I wore my floppy hats here:
    http://fashionistanygirl.blogspot.com/2012/01/outfit-post-little-couch-on-prairie.html
    http://fashionistanygirl.blogspot.com/2011/11/outfit-post-getting-floppy.html

  7. You’re right, that sure is a glorious hat.

    I’d say rock it at the Farmer’s or Flea Market with a rocker/boho vibe.

    • LOVE that idea! I am hoping to go to the Rose Bowl flea marketing in LA next time I’m in town too!

  8. Great floppy hat, been looking for one but haven’t been able to find “the one”. I envision it with some wide leg jeans and a fitted knit.

  9. That is a fabulous hat – I’d probably just start wearing it with everything.

  10. Ofelia said:

    love the hat. i see it with a cute sundress =)

  11. Super cute hat! If I have a more dramatic hat, I try to keep the rest of my outfit super simple πŸ™‚
    xo Jac

  12. Jess said:

    cute! i think i would wear it with a flowy skirt/dress to the farmers market. i’d be the chicest one there haha

    hapatime.blogspot.com

    • Yes, now I am thinking of wearing it to a flea market. There’s one at the Rose Bowl in Pasedena I want to go to next time I’m in town!

  13. That hat looks so gorgeous, I would wear it at a lunch in the garden or a barbecue πŸ™‚

    Thanks for visiting my blog and leavea lovely comment.

  14. Aitana said:

    I love to wear it all the time!!!^^
    ItΒ΄s so fabulous… πŸ˜‰

    xoxo

  15. Hannah said:

    Ohmygosh I love the hat!! It looks killer on you! But yeah, I always struggle with that problem. Hats: look super cute in the blogosphere, but where do you wear it in real life?? And if you go inside for a long period of time do you keep the hat on? I would feel weird eating at a restaurant inside with a big ol’ hat on. Maybe I’m just weird though, who knows…

  16. Hogger said:

    I’ve been asking the same question. I want a floppy hat but won’t know how to wear it.

  17. I would wear it to the beach, to a nice walk, to a coffee shop, and an outdoor lunch with my friends… as well as if I would go to the Italy or France, I would so rock it on some vineyard trips, rooftop dinners, and city strolls… aw, sweet daydream… πŸ™‚ Gorgeous hat, by the way!!!
    Have a beautiful day!
    Good luck!

    skinnymoonstick.blogspot.com

  18. Ashley said:

    What a great hat. I’m not sure where I’d wear it though. All the places I think of are places that I won’t be going to anytime soon. Tea with the Queen, anyone?

  19. love the fat! styling it is pretty easy, beach wear, with dresses wide leg pants, maxis shorts skirts blouses , tees anything~
    i cant wait to see the outcome i know it will be fierce

  20. Hannah said:

    You hat is super cute ! give a vintage touch πŸ˜‰

    if you want we can follow each other on FB

    btw, wanna follow each other ?
    Kisses
    Hannah

    Elegantesque Blog 

    Facebook   

  21. Jenna said:

    Thanks for commenting on my blog – it inspired me to check yours out! This hat is gorgeous. It’s begging for Coachella. I would wear it to add a feminine touch to a denim dress (or really anything. It’s such a great piece.)

  22. Wade and Associates said:

    I have the exact same problem. I have a cream hat that is slightly smaller and I cannot figure out how to wear it. I could see you wearing that hat with some wide leg pants or jeans any time.

  23. Your style is so chic and cute! Thanks for stopping by my blog πŸ™‚ I love your style!

  24. frances said:

    Thank you for stopping by The Fashion Hive!!

    You look great with that hat, me on the other hand I look horrible with those hats:( Rock it:)

    http://thefashionhive.com

  25. Rebecca said:

    Dear Jeniffer,

    Nice hat.. I have one for myself but yours is much better looking.. I am seeing a resort look in the hat of yours, elegant resort style. I believe you will make a good outfit mix with this, all the best & I look forward to seeing a post from your creative mix with this hat… ( :

    Sincerely,
    Rebecca @ styleantagonist.blogspot.com

  26. Paula T said:

    I love these hats and like you have wondered what I would wear it with. Looks great from your pic. I’ve designed a few of these styles and have a straw one for summer which I can’t wait to wear with simple maxi dresses or cute preppy skirts…..just need the sunshine!
    http://paulatasker.squarespace.com/

  27. E. Katya said:

    Gorgeous! Definitely sth to weir on a tropical vacation πŸ™‚
    Thanks for stopping by my blog!
    ekatya.blogspot.com

  28. you look gorgeous on that photo.. tha hat’s amazing..I’ve got tons of hats.. floppy, fedoras, caps, shapka, etc… I’m a fan since I was like 8 years old… I think it would look awesome if you took it to coachella with a super bohemian outfit… and perhaps to a night out on the town.. or to daily activities out doors such as walks in the park, lunch date, art event that took place in some open space.. I looks great on you anyway.. thanks for stopping by my blog! I appreciate the comment. stay cool!

  29. Thanks for your comment on my blog. I follow you!
    I love hats and I bought one which is similar to this one yesterday in H&M. Today, I don’t know if I will use it a lot, but it cost only €5 and I love it. I have to think about different outfits to wer it!
    xo

    http://candiescloset.blogspot.com/

  30. Ambyr said:

    This hat looks great on you. I only feel like I could pull off this hat if I was poolside in a bikini, but you’re rocking it well! Definitely Coachella appropriate.

    xoxo
    http://www.thewrittenrunway.com

  31. Isabella said:

    Wauw, you look fab! That hat is absolutely great, I’m searching for one already for soooo long!
    And in my opinion you can combine it with almost everything, so I’m curious to see your outfit post with it πŸ™‚
    xoxo http://www.chicfashionfreak.com

  32. Jess C. said:

    Thank you for your comment on my blog. I really appreciate it. Also, I LOVE your hat! It reminds me of a Stevie Nicks look – which is super fabulous! Excited to follow your blog.

  33. nico said:

    Hey Lady! Love the new hat! I have a similar one… here are some links for how i styled it:

    http://satinandsalt.blogspot.com/2011/09/first-rain-of-season.html
    http://satinandsalt.blogspot.com/2011/10/pink-pleats-for-breast-cancer-wear-ness.html
    http://satinandsalt.blogspot.com/2011/10/color-blocking-for-breast-cancer.html

    I think you’ll find this hat more versatile than you think. Just wake up with the confidence to wear it everywhere! You are beautiful!

    -Nico

    http://www.SatinAndSalt.com

    • You are working that hat in all those outfits! Thanks for the inspiration πŸ™‚

  34. I feel your ‘how do I wear this thing?” pain. I bought a big wide brimmed hat a couple of years ago (although it is straw, so it limits it to summer useage). I wear it so infrequently. It’s takes a bit of guts to wear because you know no one else is going to be wearing one. I wear mine to the beach, on vacation & at festivals where I know I probably won’t be able to find an shade… I burn easy.
    I’d love a nice felt one like yours for fall/winter use, but it would probably get used even less than the other one I have.

  35. Isa said:

    Love your hat cutie! πŸ™‚

    xox,
    Isa

  36. Linda said:

    This is so funny, because I just bought a hat like this! Only its burgundy. And I find it goes with EVERYTHING. It just adds that glamorous little touch. πŸ™‚ My favorite is wearing it with my dresses though. Can’t wait till summer gets here!

    http://www.trendyteal.blogspot.com

  37. aliza said:

    I have that hat in brown.. love it tons you look great in it

    stylingblack.com

  38. Everywhere, I would wear it every day and never take it off! It is absolutely gorgeous!!!! You have such an amazing style! Love you blog and now following, maybe you’ll have time to visit my blog:)

    Kisses,
    Annabelle
    http://vivaluxury.blogspot.com

  39. Toni said:

    you look great in the hat! i’m such a fan of wide-brimmed hats like these. perfect accessory! ❀

    toni

  40. lovely post. even more lovely hat! thanks for your previous comments.

    2youngforfashion.blogspot.com
    xx

  41. Roseanne said:

    you could wear this with a thick fur coat,some tights and some heeld boots or booties,a maxi dress and cowboy boots or brogues,distressed denim shorts and a tee!:)

  42. I totally love this kind of hat! The only thing is that I don’t know where to where exactly, at least here in Brasil people don’t usually wear it a lot… =(

    xoxo

  43. Rheannia said:

    I love your big floppy hat! It looks great on you! If you ask me you can wear it anywhere…especially Coachella! I love your blog! I’m following you now.

    Rhe
    rhestyle.com

  44. The hat looks great on you. πŸ™‚ I don’t know where, when and with what to wear it, but it looks super cute. Maybe someday I can pull it off too, but now it feels too glamorous for casual looks that I usually wear. πŸ™‚ Love it though!

    Thanks for your comment sweetie! Do stop by anytime again,
    I love new blog friends. :>

    xx Satu
    Indie by Heart

  45. Annie said:

    I LOVE this hat! I have the same thought though – no idea how I would style one, so I think that’s why I haven’t bought one πŸ™‚ It looks really cute on you though!

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

  46. Ellie said:

    I there, thanks for the comment. are you following? I will definitely be having look at your blog!
    Love the hat! xxx

  47. coachella would be perfect! i can just see it with cut off jeans, a white tank and some cute flat sandals! the hat would make the outfit!

  48. Love the hat, I have almost the same one, which I am currently testing out on vacation in Hawaii! You look adorable

  49. Ellen said:

    Love this! I just bought a hat recently that is almost identical. I seriously can’t get enough, I’ll let you know when I do an outfit post with mine. I’m thinking a fairly simple outfit with large accessories and this amazing hat! who doesn’t love big floppy sun hats?! Thanks for visiting! πŸ™‚

    xoxo
    Ellen
    http://www.seizethestyle.blogspot.com

  50. Margot said:

    I’m totally love of your hat!
    Xx
    Margot.

  51. Sooji said:

    I love love this hat! It should look fabulous with wide legs pants & blouse, or long maxi dresses or a simple knee high one colored/wool dress with its skirts that flare. Thanks for the comment on my nail tutorial, shall we follow eachother? πŸ™‚

    XOXO
    Sooji

    http://glam-mania.blogspot.com/

  52. Anna said:

    Followin you via bloglovin ^^

  53. hi, thanks for your sweet comment on my blog!! I have a hat like that and I like to style it with pretty much anything! my personal favourite: floaty flower printed midi dresses in spring. happy to be your newest follower!! xx Alice Barton β™₯ The Mow Way

  54. Quiqui said:

    I love the hat and the pictures too!!. Maybe , you can wear it with the dress (actually it is a skirt and blouse) from the Jason Wu new collection for Target. Check the links: http://www.target.com/p/Jason-Wu-for-Target-Pleated-Skirt-in-Navy-Floral/-/A-13840191#?lnk=Other_JASONWU_0205_HEADEROPENCONTAINTER|HEADEROPENCONTAINTER&intc=404143|null and http://www.target.com/p/-/A-13840178#?lnk=Other_JASONWU_0205_HEADEROPENCONTAINTER|HEADEROPENCONTAINTER&intc=404143|null
    Quiqui
    P.S. Hope the links work.

  55. Awesome post! I will keep an on eye on your blog.

I adore each comment!

