‘Cause I gave it all up

Does anyone else participant in Lent? It seems like this year that I am the only one doing it; and my boyfriend whom I forced graciously offered to support me. Not only did I give up desserts, but I gave up processed foods. That means no cookies, cakes, candies or chemically enhanced, aka delicious, packaged foods. Insane right? Six days in and I’m not doing too bad. I didn’t even cheat on the cheat day (Sundays are cheat days during Lent – no lie; apparently even God needs a cheat day once in a while). The worst part was on the second day in when I had to bake brownies for a dinner with my friends and I could not even lick the spoon, or eat the crumbs when I cut them into giant squares of moist, fudgey goodness. Or maybe it was when everyone else was eating brownies topped with vanilla fudge ice cream. I made my bed though, and I will lay in it (until Easter that is – then I will make the ultimate brownie-cookie-cupcake hybrid (oh, it exists – top it with ice cream and pray about how thankful I am for it’s deliciousness).

IMG_0194-out

*Shirt: Thrifted. White Tank & Shoes: Urban Outfitters. Jeans: Gap. *Purse, Sunglasses, & Necklace: Forever 21. Ring: Sears (yeah.. Sears.)

Besides torturing and starving myself, I have also been wearing clothes. And traveling to LA. I’m averaging two trips a month so far this year, which is awesome. And costly, but mostly awesome. After we creeped around this back road behind a grocery store (that smelled of rotting meat), we went to dinner and bowling and had good times with good friends. I apparently had a little too much fun because I am covered in bruises. But for real, what’s new. I get a bruise from thinking too hard.

IMG_0240-out

It was a bit windy that afternoon.

IMG_0203-out

Or a lot windy.

IMG_0257-out

We found a prop. As gross as this old cart was, I sat on it. And then continued to ride around in it. Come on, you would do the same!

IMG_0285-out

I swear, I do not know how I am still living knowing that there are brownies and ice cream in my house. Torture.

IMG_0233-out

IMG_0217-out

My boyfriend thinks I’m a little wacko because I kept wanting to do this pose. I admit, it kept coming out weird, and I kept falling over before he could take the picture, but whatever. I’m trying!

IMG_0232-out

IMG_0198-out

Photo overload? Sorry – I love these!

IMG_0225-out

IMG_0291-out

K, bye!
So really, is anyone else doing Lent? And if so, are you torturing yourself as much as I am?

All photos credit of Ugly Mug Photography

*Follow Seeking Style*

*Bloglovin’ * Facebook * Twitter

54 comments
  1. Lina said:

    I guess I’m a little late to the game this year, as I haven’t picked anything to abstain from this Lent, but I’ve done it for years (without being particularly religious). If nothing else, I find Lent a lot easier to tackle than new year’s resolutions. Probably just because it has an end date and a cheat days, haha! In the past I’ve given up things (desserts, meat) and taken up things (only using public transit), all to great avail. At least in the case of the meatless lent, I tested my ability to be a vegetarian without having to fully commit and then go back on myself. Great post!

  2. Robin said:

    Good for you for sticking to your guns! Mad props for giving up on BROWNIES! UGH! Love these super fun photos and that great green jacket!

  3. L said:

    i reallly like the color of that green shirt.
    ps. brownies sound so good right now! i would not have been able to bake them and not eat!

    http://www.the-launderette.com (my etsy shop!)

  4. Wren said:

    These photos are so fun! Unfortunately I’m not doing lent this year. I couldn’t think of anything to give up that I haven’t before. I’ve given up coffee, chocolate, facebook, sugar,etc before. I’m impressed with your self-control.

    Wren

  5. Charity said:

    jeez girl, your hair is look fierce! too gorgeous.

  6. Love these shots! 😀 I always want to try that pose too, but it never works out for me XD
    I’m being VERY bad and not giving anything up for Lent…I can never think of anything that 1. I will be able to do and 2. is worth giving up (I would never be able to give up desserts and processed foods)
    http://www.closet-fashionista.com/

  7. Joannie said:

    The photos of you in the market cart are so cute! Crazy you gave up so many things for lent! Good luck, you can do it! =)

    XOXOJOANNIE
    ANURBAN-EXPLORER.BLOGSPOT.COM

  8. Ali said:

    Yes, but in a much lamer way than you. I’m giving up pop, not that big of a concession, since I don’t actually drink it that often. I wish I had the dedication to give up gummy bears (my one true obsession), but I’m too weak. Good for you, though! PS, love love love those booties!

    Ali
    http://editorialistyle.blogspot.com

  9. What a great casual outfit, and I’m seriously loving your hair
    xo Jac

  10. Linda said:

    Looooove these photos! Haha, it’s good you did a photo overload, because they’re all so fun and whimsical! 🙂
    And dang girl, I couldn’t do Lent. I cannot deny myself sugar! Haha, I try limiting it, but to entirely give it up? Nuh-uh, not possible. More power to you though!
    Your hair is so gorgeous 0_o Seriously, I’m having hair envy right now…
    And also, love that pose xD Haha, I’m pretty sure I’ve tried out that one too. You rocked it!
    The cart photos are my favorite. Makes me long for summer break and all the care-free time I’ll have 🙂

    http://www.trendyteal.blogspot.com

  11. Lizzie said:

    These photos are sooo much fun 🙂 I love the green shirt and your hair…..what products do you use?! It looks fab!

    xo
    Lizzie
    placeclevertitlehere.blogspot.com

    • I don’t use much product on my hair.. I use Herbal Essences Tousel Me Softly shampoo, conditionar, and hair spray. I do no blow dry (except my bangs) and maybe when my hair is half way dry, I spritz it with some hair spray and scrunch it up a bit (to try to keep the waves, rather than gain the friz haha). I only wash my hair about twice a week because it’s dry and thick, so each morning (if I am going to wear it down), I’ll wet my hands and run it through my hair and then spray it a little bit again. Not too much up keep (though I’m sure I could do a better job haha).

  12. Tonya said:

    LOVE your hair!! So pretty and full of volume 🙂 I love this outfit too, casual and chic. I love everything about it!

  13. That’s pretty hard core giving up all that food, I’m impressed. And very funny about the Sunday sinning! Love your hair, and really love your jacket. Nice blog too, just found you through Blog search – you have a new follower xxx

    Lots of love from over here in London, UK xx

    South Molton St Style

  14. annie said:

    I am loving that awesome green coat and those shoes – so cute! Wow – you must have some strong ass will power to give up all that delicious stuff 🙂

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

  15. thanks for leaving such a sweet comment on my blog! i don’t observe lent, but i admire you for giving up sweets and processed foods. i mean, that is no joke.
    i love all of these photos! the cart prop is fantastic! who knew hanging out in a stinky alley behind a grocery store could be so beautiful?

  16. Theresa said:

    I didn’t give up anything for Lent this year, but that’s cool that you’re doing so. I tried to give up shopping one year, and that was pretty much impossible for me – haha! I’m digging the oversized shirt – one of those pieces that I’m sure you want to throw on with everything. 🙂

    xoTheresa

    The Habit

  17. You are one brave soul honey!!! I’d seriously DIE if I attempted to give up sweets! Love me some ice cream and cookies before bed 😀 Keep it up doll! Can’t wait to hear all about your progress!

    Thanks again for visiting my blog love, hope you’ll be back to see my latest designs!

    xo-Julie
    Peace. Love. LOL!

    Haute Khuuture.com

  18. Love the fun photo shoot! I somehow forgot to give up something for Lent this year…after all those years in Catholic school you would think I could remember when it’s Lent, but apparently not. I usually don’t make it past about a week into my lenten promise anyway!

    Mandy
    Kini Style & The Klury Report

  19. Amanda said:

    Oh sounds like a painful thing to do… But I bet you are going to thank yourself later… Me on other hand, would love to try this but with exams and all, Idk what how would I get trough without all the sweet stuff, that I put in my mouth while studying like a crazy person =) …. So great job for doing this =)

  20. Love that look and the photos are really funny!!
    xoxohttp://silviasdailycloset.blogspot.com/

  21. You’re crazy giving up sweets! I never had a sweet tooth until I got pregnant. And now I know the other side of things.
    I don’t usually do Lent, so I wish you the best of luck. You can do it!
    Love the booties!

  22. thank you for your comment Jennifer, I liked so much these photos! :]

  23. Carrie said:

    Wow – ambitious Lent goal — no processed foods AND desserts! Haven’t done Lent, so I didn’t know there’s cheat days. 🙂
    Love the thrifted green shirt and the accessories! Thanks for dropping by my blog.

  24. Hannah said:

    i gave up red meat and biscuits last year for lent and it killed me so decided not to put myself through the angst again!!

    love the photos!

    just started following you on bloglovin 🙂

    raspberrykitsch.blogspot.com

    xx

  25. Joyce said:

    I love your skinny jeans and green shirt, they look amazing (and so is your hair!) no, i’m not doing lent, I don’t think I have enough self control to not eat brownies and ice cream…But good luck, you can do it 🙂

  26. Just found your blog through Chictopia. Everything here looks great. Your hair is gorgeous and I love this outfit!

    I have a blog too if you’d like to check it out! I’ll be hosting a giveaway once I reach 100 followers, so please follow me and leave comments.

    http://www.framedfrosting.blogspot.com/

  27. love these photos
    your so pretty!
    & you look very stylish 🙂

  28. Zane said:

    love the casual yet chic vibe here

  29. I gave up shopping (for clothing) for lent. I don’t know if I could give up processed food… It’s just too good! You know what? I LOVE your hair. In fact, I think I would like to borrow it forever if you don’t mind. Trade? 😉

  30. Mini said:

    Love the photo of you in the shopping cart, so adorable!

    pleasebemylouisiana.blogspot.com

  31. Camille said:

    These pictures are wonderful! I love your effortless style here and I’m swooning over your hair, it’s so lovely:) I didn’t give up anything for Lent this year and I feel very guilty about it 😦 Good for you though, no processed food must be SO difficult. Thanks for your nice comment on my blog, have a great weekend!

    http://latelystylish.blogspot.com/

  32. I am participating in lent! I gave up coffee and energy drinks! And lemonade, which I always fool myself into thinking is ‘juice,’ but let’s be honest, it’s pretty much just sugar-water, haha 🙂 And I definitely have the SAME problem with insisting on a specific pose that ends up so silly most of the time! glad to hear I’m not the only one hehe!

    -christen @ from the woods (thanks SO MUCH for stopping by our blog!)

  33. aida said:

    hello sweetie! Thanks a lot for visiting and commenting my blog. I really like yours – it’s quite interesting, appealling and I totally identify myself with it. I’m your new follower now and would love you to follow back if you like my blog as well. Thanks a lot for your feedback.
    have a nice weekend and I’ll be back for sure
    kisses
    http://cottoncandy-peaches.blogspot.com/

  34. Alina said:

    Great look,hon!Love the shirt!

  35. love your shirt, i wish i have a similar one
    oh and great mix of colors in your previous post
    xx

  36. Sandy said:

    You are one brave gal – I think I might go into cardiac arrest without a daily sugar fix. Loving the shopping cart shots and your dreamy luscious locks of hair.

    x The Pretty Secrets

  37. cool casual outfit.hope you are having a great time!x

I adore each comment!

