All tied up

*Bloglovin’ * Facebook * Twitter

Hm, a kinky way to start off Monday.

Awkward. Just a little.

So, those days when your first thought waking up is, “I can’t wait to go to bed tonight.” That. Just your basic Monday morning. A day that I could wait to go to bed? Our last day in New York City. We woke up leisurely, took the subway into Brooklyn, (I) thrifted a bit, had brunch with a friend, and then made a mad dash our way to the airport.

IMG_7670-out*Shorts: Forever 21. *Top: Thrifted via Good Will. *Shoes: Aldo. *Bag: Claire’s

I normally don’t bare my mid drift, but I figured, it’s around 123 degrees and New York, so I can get away with it.

IMG_7694-out

Can we talk about these shoes? Um, they are studded. That is code for awesome.

Can we also talk about the face that I chose a shoe shot in which the shoes are blurry. That is code for artistic.

IMG_7697-outI wish this was my stoop. That is one thing I love about Brooklyn and other New York suburbs: stoops.

One: Brick steps

Two: They make me feel like I’m in an episode of The Cosby Show

Three: They are called stoops

All in all, perfect.

IMG_7699-out

IMG_7682-out
Another code word? Stoop is code for stupid. At least it was when I was a kid. We weren’t allowed to call each other stupid growing up, so we shortened it because we thought my parents were “stupid” and called each other “stoop” instead. They caught on pretty quickly. We tried changing it to “porch” a couple of times, but it just wasn’t the same.

We are all in our twenties now. We still call each other “stoop”.

IMG_7741-out

IMG_7666-out

Ah, the subway.

My hand got really dirty after touching that pillar.

I had to get in my walking pictures, of course! How else will I show off my fantastic bruises? Most people would photoshop those out. I am not most people. This is real life. And I don’t even think photoshop could help my bruising talent problem.

IMG_7723-out

IMG_7753-out

Everyone once in a while, you just need a good old fashioned jumping photo to end a post, even if that means the pictures end up chronologically out of order.

IMG_7708-out

All photos credit of Ugly Mug Photography

*Follow Seeking Style*

*Bloglovin’ * Facebook * Twitter

78 comments
  1. I’m still a bit sad we didn’t make it to Brooklyn as I relly would have loved to see those “stoops”. DSeriously, that word sounds really weird after reading it 10x in your post, haha! x

  2. Katie said:

    What a cute outfit! Looks like you had a lot of fun. ;D

    And I totes agree that “studded” is code for awesome when it comes to shoes. ❤

  3. Love your look! Simple and chic 🙂 and the jumping photo is fantastic 😉 🙂

  4. Love the shoes, so pretty! And your jumping picture is ace too 🙂 Thanks for popping by my blog doll, come again soon 🙂 xx

  5. eva said:

    just fantastic photos,love the top xxx

  6. milex said:

    rewelacja! folluję, folluję!

  7. These are my fave photos of yours ever. I love the “stoop” conversation. Aw, childhood. Your studded flats are bad ass.

  8. Kate said:

    Amazing pictures, that jumping one is brilliant! Love your shirt!

  9. Sparkle said:

    so stylish!
    xx

    asteria-sparkle.blogspot.com

  10. Michelle said:

    Wow, such a lovely blog you have:) i like the whole outfit. I got the same pair of shoe but in blue with bit sharp studs….xx Michelle

    http://elenee-michelle.blogspot.dk

  11. sofia said:

    love how you wear your shirt!
    s

  12. anna said:

    NYC is full of stoops. I wish my city had houses similar to those.

  13. Char said:

    I miss NY! I love your shirt and how you wore it!

  14. cheyenne said:

    i want to go back to nyc so bad now! lovely pictures 🙂
    and i was looking at those shoes in an aldo store the other day!
    i think i might go back and get them, they look so awesome!
    xo, cheyenne

  15. amy said:

    Great photos and I love your shoes, fabulous! Glad you enjoyed my favorite city in the world!

    xx, Amy

    Leopard and Lillies

  16. Meera said:

    It looks like you had an amazing time! These photos are so cute! Love your top.

    xoxo, Meera

  17. lia said:

    great photos….I love NY city…
    xo…xo…L.

  18. Love your outfit!
    Especially those studs loafer and tied up top
    Have a nice day!

    Sincerely,
    BERTHA NATASHA

  19. Estelle said:

    Thanks for your comment on my blog! I really like your style of writing, I honestly had a few good chuckles while reading this post. Let me know if you want to follow each other 🙂 xx

    loverandshoes.blogspot.com

  20. Stacy said:

    You have a great style!
    Thanks for visiting&commenting my blog!
    What about following each other? Let me know what do you think about it 😉

  21. thanks for your comment .. lovely
    pictures you have in your blog.

    xoxo
    avenueahline.blogspot.com

  22. Britney said:

    Of course you can get away with a bit of bare belly…why not when it’s 120 degrees? I have a pair of shoes similar to those, Rock N Republic brand, and I LOVE them!
    Love your blog and thanks for stopping by mine as well!

    http://britspolkadotlife.blogspot.com/

    Britney

  23. Walking around, thrifting, & brunch sounds like the perfect way to spend a day! I wish I had a city stoop for summer lounging and socializing! My favorite picture is the jumping one, you are adorable!
    xo Hannah

  24. A knotted blue top and black skirt is one of my favorite looks – no lie! those shoes are beautiful, as well!

    I’m glad to hear that you agree with me on how great s/s collections are!

    ❤ Melissa
    http://wildflwrchild.blogspot.com

  25. Ramona said:

    Your pumps are so super cute and yet edgy.You look lovely and I like your backpack.Wonderful photos.

    xoxo Ra

  26. I bruise like a peach too – I feel your pain!

    ♥ ThankFifi
    Thanks always for your comments.x

  27. Lovely shots! Your style is great. Your hair is beautiful too – mine used to be a similar length but I lopped it all off like a madwoman.

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog, please visit again soon.

    Jennie x

  28. Nicole said:

    Love your blog! :. I’ll definetly follow and come back soon :). Come by my blog is you want too and follow :). I just started blogging yesterday :).

    Ziqqua.blogspot.ca

  29. Theresa said:

    Love this summery look on you and those shoes are hot babe! Sounds like a great trip!

    xxTheresa

    The Habit

  30. Great look!! Those Aldo shoes are so fun!

    ps. love the pic of you jumping!

  31. haha, i like the story from your childhood. There is something really cool about the look of chilling on your stoop on a sunny day, so I definitely feel you there. Your shoes are sick too.

  32. lol I wake up wanting to go to bed all the time. Very cute and easy outfit.

  33. toni said:

    Wow, I never realized your hair is so long! And I’ve used the word “stoop” on occasion. LOL. Love your tie top! ❤

    toni

  34. Pip said:

    Such a cool outfit, and I love your hair! These photos are so cool, love your blog!

    Pip x

  35. meganmarie92 said:

    Thank you for looking at my blog because if you hadn’t, I wouldn’t have found yours!! I love your posts and you’re absolutely gorgeous! You look like you should model for Anthropology or Free People! I adore NYC so so much!
    Love your blog, its so much fun to read! I really enjoy that! Keep in touch! XoXo

  36. hannah said:

    Stunning look darling, have a lovely time in NYC, i dream to go there !

    wanna follow on facebook and twitter ?

    Kisses
    Hannah
    Elegantesque Blog

  37. Those shoes are awesome. I’m also slightly envious of the fact that you’re in NYC in these pictures. I’ve never been but have ALWAYS wanted to go!

  38. Savana said:

    Hey. Thanks for visiting
    Nice styling !!!
    Regards!!
    savana-style.blogspot.com

  39. Ariel said:

    Love these photos! And I feel like this is a weird compliment, but you have the best bone structure!

  40. Yeah you’re definitely allowed to have your midriff out when it’s a bazillion degrees outside! Your outfit is simple and cute. Perfect for summer. And those studded shoes are awesome!

I adore each comment!

