A wrinkle(s) in time

Bloglovin’ // Facebook // Twitter

I should probably be embarrassed that my shirt is wrinkled (sorry Mom!) and my hair is a mess.

But I’m not. This is my blog and I choose to show the real me and sometimes, this is the real me. We all have those days that we need to throw our unwashed hair up and grab the nearest clean, albeit wrinkely, shirt.

Do you want to know what is actually embarrassing?

Being caught singing, nay, sanging, in the car on the way to work this morning. Not once, but twice, on my short fifteen minute drive. Did you know that you cannot sound good unless your face matches the pain felt in the lyrics? It’s true.

I don’t embarrass easily, but when I am belting it out while simultaneously trying to get the stray eye crustys out, I might have felt a little embarrassment. Enough to stop and pretend I was coughing instead. Because hacking up a lung while trying not to poke my eye out as I drive is better than enjoying a song and singing while trying not to poke my eye out as I drive.

The second time? I just went with it.

Do you embarrass easily?

IMG_0370-out

IMG_0401-out

// Shirt: Urban Outfitters // Jeans: BDG via Urban Outfitters // Denim Jacket: LA Fashion District // Boots & Purse: Thrifted via Crossroads //

Once I received a text from my best friend while I was driving; “What are you listening to?” She drove past me on the free way while I was in the middle of belting out, you guessed it, the Backstreet Boys.

So if you ever pass me while driving, I am not coughing, having a seizure, or talking into a blue tooth. Just pretending that I am in a music video.

IMG_0398-out

Why do my boots look so dirty?

I suppose it matched my thrown together look that day.

IMG_0402-out

IMG_0394-out

IMG_0378-out

IMG_0415-out

IMG_0422-out

IMG_0386-out

Oh look, I do know how to smile!

IMG_0365-out

Stalker alert! I got caught reading cookbooks.

Edit to add: This video of Alyssa and I sanging on a road trip. I pretty much do this alone in the car.

All photos credit of Ugly Mug Photography

// Follow Seeking Style //

Bloglovin’ // Facebook // Twitter

69 comments
  1. I love the double denim in this outfit. The back of your top is really cool! I really like how casual and cool this outfit is. And don’t worry, we all get caught singing in our cars. And of course your face has to match the mood of the song! Otherwise it can’t sound as good!

  2. Go girl! No need to apologize and I ALWAYS get caught singing and dancing in the car! I have large speakers left over from my teenage days, so usually people are alarmed when they pull up next to me and I am singing every word to Regulate by Warren G at an alarming volume. I love your top!

  3. Maria V said:

    Double denim rocks! Love all the photos too… they really add to the story!

  4. Meghan said:

    love this look! I’ve been guilty of trying to spray myself with downey’s wrinkle release spray as I’m rushing out the door…it never works.

    #8o3
    Meghan
    alionheartblog.blogspot.com

  5. Melody said:

    That top is really cute– I love the back! I always get caught while singing in the car lol Usually I just keep going, most likely you’ll never see them again anyway lol

  6. It depends on the situation whether I get embarassed. If I get caught COMPLETELY offguard (like the singing thing) then yea I tend to get embarassed but usually it’s because of the surprise. If I’m intentionally being weird (or wearing a wrinkled shirt and NGAF) then I don’t really care. I like to try to embarass my husband a lot, just to watch him squirm…

    Strive to Thrive,
    Nic

    <www.Thriving-Wives.com

  7. Andrea said:

    Oh I definitely embarrass easily. I’m one of those people who will become a big cherry tomato when embarrassed, and then i get even more embarrassed by how red i am lol.
    And i know what you mean about everyday not being a glamorous fashion day. I think it makes your blog more real and it’s easier for people to relate to.
    ~Andrea
    http://www.wearitbetter.com

  8. inês said:

    You look so pretty 🙂

  9. Jan said:

    Love your bag!

  10. Yelle said:

    I love your hair in a bun! And your boots totally don’t look dirty, they look lived in! Which is better than looking bran spanking new!

  11. Linda said:

    One of the best denim on denim looks I’ve seen! The back of that top is so cool 🙂

    Trendy Teal

  12. Jen said:

    What a great look! You’ve done the denim-on-denim look quite nicely. You can barely notice the wrinkles 😉 And I too am infamous for singing in my car and getting the stink eye from other drivers. Just can’t help myself! 🙂

  13. Elsha said:

    Alright missy, you are hilarious. And adorable! And I totally understand everything you are saying 🙂 I broke off a car pool because I couldn’t belt my sons with a 50 year old man in the car. You are awesome

  14. Love Love love the denim blouse and your messy bun! The smile is quite lovely too.

    Please check out my Michael Stars Giveaway
    Stiletto Beats

    xo
    Emily Jenny

  15. Sarah said:

    I love that you are wrinkly and disheveled and grungy. (: For the record, I wore the same shirt (and posted two outfits) two days in a row. As for singing in the car… yeah. I’m pretty much the star of the most epic music video ever when I’m rocking out.

  16. Love your blouse, and great photos:) Follow you now! Would be great if you follow us back:)

  17. TJ said:

    Ha, I’ve definitely been caught singing in the car one too many times. You are adorable, girl! Of course I’m loving this outfit!!!
    xo TJ

  18. love this casual outfit. simple yet fab at the same time ❤

  19. nico said:

    in response to your comment on my blog about being frugal and cheap…. so am I. I’m crazy for designer clothes (I pretend to collect clothing like art or stamps) but I cant afford the new stuff so I stalk my local thrift stores constantly for gems. Oh and your outfit today… kind of amazing, I actually love the wrinkled texture of the top!

    -Nico

    http://www.SatinandSalt.com

  20. I actually love the hair and I think the little wrinkles in the top give this whole look that lived-in, slightly rumpled look that makes it even more chic!

    Alexandra xo

    tovogueorbust.com

  21. Gabriele said:

    totally agree with you, there are days when… you just really can not be bothered to look perfect and be perfect and you gotta show others the real you haha. anyways, love the look and im completely in love with your boots! 🙂 where can I folow you?

    http://totallyvogue.blogspot.com

  22. Christie said:

    Love the denim top, super chic!!!

  23. Lucka said:

    I love this look! Double denim is so cool:) Following you on Bloglovin! It will be great if you check my blog and maybe follow me back:)

    Kisses, Lucy!

  24. Raindrops of Sapphire said:

    I like the double denim look! I’m a huge fan of denim! I really like your blog! It would be nice if you could stop by my blog sometime too (I’m from England) as I post my outfits, likes and more 🙂 🙂

    http://www.raindropsofsapphire.com

  25. trishie said:

    I can just imagine you singing in the car with vivid expressions on your face…haha, i think it’s cute not funny.

  26. Ali said:

    I love the distressed quality of those boots! And your hair is so cute, I wish my hair looked that cute in a bun! ❤ Yours is just so dense and fluffy, haha. That's a good thing! 😉 ❤

    And cookbooks… I am totally guilty of going there first upon entering a bookstore, haha! I like to look at all the delicious and pretty food photography. 😀

  27. Kristian said:

    Ahaha- I love your love of the Backstreet Boys. I love that you are passionate about them. The world needs more passion!

    Also loving this outfit which is so laidback, simple and classic.

    http://www.withoutastyle.com

  28. Gentri said:

    SO cute! I love this outfit. 🙂
    It’s ok, I went out the other day with a wrinkly shirt and wrinkly shorts. haha!

  29. nikol said:

    I like the way you look ..! have a good style!!
    good mix of shoes ….
    good weekend

  30. Emily said:

    I love the boots, amazing!

    thebeautymist.blogspot.co.uk

  31. beth said:

    the denim on denim looks great!

  32. shoutouttoyou said:

    Love your hair in a high bun!
    And the shirt is great… the back is so surprising! Enjoy your Sunday dear.
    xx

  33. Love your blog! Your outfit is pretty perfect in this post. And your ramblings are quite entertaining. Wish I could follow you with google! I forget my wordpress account from many moons ago. Anywhoots, nice to meet’chya!

    ❤ jo of thelittledandy.com

  34. marina said:

    Thank you for the comment on my blog! Ill be following you now…because I may be in love with your smile and your style 🙂 Marina.

    • marina said:

      Thank you for the comment on my blog http://my-empty-closet.blogspot.com/ ! Ill be following you now…because I may be in love with your smile and your style Marina. P.s. sorry for double comment. Didn’t realize i have wordpress from long time ago.

I adore each comment!

