One is the loneliest number

Bloglovin’ // Facebook // Twitter

I like to do things on my own. At least I think that I like to do things on my own. It’s not until you have to actually do something on your own, that you know what it’s like.

Have you ever tried to flip your mattress on your own? Or put a freshly clean sheet on your bed? I could be alone here, but it takes me a good fifteen minutes or so to get that damn bed sheet on correctly.

Deciding on what to make for dinner? I won’t even go there. Combating strange noises in the middle of the night, zipping up a dress that is purposefully too small in Vegas, sweeping: someone has to hold the dust pan!

Don’t get me started on taxes, vacuuming behind the couch, and using the Blu Ray player.

Which brings me to these photos. If you’re a regular reader of my blog, you know that Ugly Mug takes all my photos (with an appearance by The Fan Files every know and again). On this particular day, however, I was on my own. Just me, a tripod, and a timer.  I started off thinking it would actually be easier than shooting with Ugly Mug; I could do all my own angles, poses, and take as many pictures with my chin up as I damn well please.

I was wrong. Oh, so wrong. I could barely move the tripod to the level I wanted. The six photos taken at a time by the timer were taken so fast, I could only blink in between. I apparently also don’t notice trash in my shots.

That being said, thank God for Ugly Mug; for more reasons than being my trusty photographer, of course, but especially for putting up with me during our shoots.

Do you take your own photos or have a friend, boyfriend, family member, or glamour shots associate take your photos?

IMG_009A-out

IMG_006A-out

// Jacket: Heart Clothing Boutique // Top: Old Navy // Shorts: Thrifted via Thrift Town // Hat & Tights: Marshalls // Shoes: Thrifted via Crossroads

I am a big proponent for tights and shorts, I’ve just never done it before. Until now. I can’t promise that I did not wear this several days in a row. I tend to do that when I like an outfit, it’s a weekend, it’s laundry day, or when all of my clothes are strewn all over my room (which is always).

IMG_003A-out

IMG_002A-out

Do you see that trash? That is the reason why I need a photographer.

And a new back up photo location.

IMG_004A-out

IMG_005A-out

Also, more cut off heads than I would usually like. Which is saying a lot, as those are usually my favorite photos.

IMG_001B-out

IMG_007B-out

 Jokes aside, I’m quite co-dependent, which I am working on.

What do you hate doing on your own?

But really, does anyone else have as much trouble as I do with putting a sheet on your mattress?

Bloglovin’ // Facebook // Twitter

83 comments
  1. Jenny said:

    Such a funny post. I have tried the tripod, or should I say, camera set on a pile of stuff because I don’t have a tripod, once and it worked out, but was really time consuming. I usually get my boyfriend to take my pictures which is easier and makes me smile 🙂 The sheet thing is a pain too, definitely need someone else to get a sheet on a bed.

    xo Jenny
    [archi]dress

  2. Leigh said:

    I am the same way! I think the tripod will actually get the job done quicker, but whoa was I wrong! So much more helpful to have a real person! Adorable outfit though! I love the tights under shorts look!

  3. I have a tripod, but haven’t used it yet. I’ve always had hubby take the pics! He used to be so ornery about it, but now he’s gotten used to it and we’re enjoying it!

    LOVE your pics – you do a FAB job!

    XOXO
    -Daisy Nguyen from the PS BANANAS! fashion blog: http://psbananas.com

  4. Sparkle said:

    amazing photos.
    i love that shorts and hat. very fab.

    x

    asteria-sparkle.blogspot.com

  5. Anita said:

    i love your shorts! and they look so amazing with that jacket, love it all!

    xx
    Anita

  6. I have always fancied myself an independent woman, but the thought of my husband leaving for 60 days has got me questioning that fact. All of a sudden, I’m like “but how will I rake the leaves????” Um, the same way you did before he was around you dumbass. Nonetheless, it is good to realize how much you appreciate that other person and all that they do for you and with you. Not that you couldn’t do it alone, but it is always better and easier with two. I take my own photos, though, because my husband is not a photographer and doesn’t get that yes, yes I do need a shot of JUST the boots.

  7. I am used to putting sheets ON the bed by myself, but folding them is a whole other story! I would rather leave them crumpled in a pile for days until my husband (or some other helpful person) can come help me fold them. Your pics turned out cute despite the difficulty! I know what you mean about the tripod, always takes waaayyyy longer!

    Strive to Thrive,
    Nic
    http://www.Thriving-Wives.com

  8. Clara said:

    Actually I get a bit nervous taking photos with people around starring at me so I take them (my sister usually does, but she’s not able actually so I’m gettin use at doing it on my own) in my bedroom.
    I hate cooking cookies on my own, because I can’t.

    letyourselfbeinspiredby.blogspot.it

  9. Meghan said:

    those damn bedsheets…I swear to god they get me every time. I always think it’s going well until I get to the last corner and A) the sheet is a good 6 inches too short to fit, or B) when I pull it over the corner, another corner pops out.

  10. Rachel said:

    this is AWESOME! i hate putting on sheets too. my bad is case in point of that right now one side keeps falling off and i cant get it back on~! ahhhhh

  11. we’re loving these photos!!! the cropping totally works with your style!!!!
    the hat is great.

    xo. c & v
    cake & valley

  12. ewa said:

    love this look!

  13. Melissa said:

    I like this look a lot! Especially the shorts and jacket.

    ❤ Melissa
    wildflwrchild.blogspot.com

  14. Love your outfit, and you look gorgeous!
    xx

    Saraalwan.blogspot.com

  15. I really like that you’ve tried to take your own photos. As someone who spent almost a year taking my own photos before caving in to ask someone else for help, I totally get where you’re coming from. Trying to put on a new bed sheet is also quite a challenge by myself– glad to hear we’re not alone when… alone!

    xo, the demure muse

  16. Love your hat and your short !! You look great

    Bisous from FRANCE

  17. Totally love your blog and style! Brand new here, and definitely adding to my Google Reader feed. 🙂

    xo,
    Terry

    terrys-two-cents.blogspot.com

  18. Ali said:

    Doing things on your own for the first time can be hard… and oh gosh, the fact that you took these by yourself is amazing! I have my mom click the button on my tripod to make sure that they’re in focus and such, so having to do that yourself… I’m quite impressed with your photo quality! 🙂

    Those shorts are so cuteee!

  19. Haha yeah taking pictures on your own can be hard. Usually I take my own. They usually turn out better for me because I don’t have to boss anybody around or show them how to use my camera, but it’d be way easier if I had a photographer friend to do it for me!

  20. THE-LOUDMOUTH said:

    This is exactly why I don’t do many outfit posts, haha. I don’t really have anyone to take my photos, and I don’t have a tripod or timer. When I take them myself, I set it on top of something (like my car). But these actually turned out great, so don’t sell yourself short!

  21. norbyah said:

    i’ve often wondered what it would be like to try and take my pictures myself…it’s easiest when my son takes my pictures, and he’s getting quite good. my daughter struggles because of the weight of the camera, so i get lots of cut off heads, and other weird things. my mum helps out, too. then, if the hubby does it, i get all self conscious. i like your pictures, but i agree….i’m definitely dependent on others to take them for me.

    xo
    n

  22. great look! love that hat and your hair looks great!

  23. Love the look! And awesome job on your photos. Taking them with a tri-pod is definitely a lot more work than having a photographer, but yours look great! I do most of mine on my own with a tri-pod too, and it certainly has its challenges at times!

    ❤ Josephine
    http://www.champagnestar.com

  24. Magda said:

    such a cool shorts 🙂

  25. You are so funny and the pics are awesome. So you did well but of course it´s easier with a photographer. I wouldn´t have seen the trash if you hadn´t pointed it out ❤
    xo

    glamDevils

  26. MissEcl said:

    Hahaha! IPutting the sheets always takes time for me too 🙂 My boyfriend take my pictures. When I have to take the pictures on my own i can spend two hours to have three nice photos. I understand you 😛

  27. Mandy said:

    What an amazing outfit and seriously, I’m so impressed that you managed to take these photos by yourself! They are absolutely perfect. I’m pretty sure if I attempted such a feat, everything would turn out grossly out of focus hahaha.

    Have a beautiful day, lovely lady!

    Mandy xx
    http://frocksandotherfrivolities.blogspot.com/

  28. shoutouttoyou said:

    I absolutely adore this outfit Jennifer… the striped tee and parka jacket look so great together!
    And your hair is stunning!
    xx

  29. zarna said:

    you look fantastic! i have a few people who take my photos, sometimes it can be hard!!

  30. Elsha said:

    Love the shorts and tights on you!! I hate eating alone, it is the highest level of lonely

  31. Gabriele said:

    Yeeeep, taking photos yourself is hard! I like to think that I like being on my own, and doing things on my own more than with others, but sometimes you just NEED someone to be there and help. 🙂
    Love the outfit, those shorts are so gorgeous! 🙂

    xo

  32. TJ said:

    Sometimes I use a self timer and other times I have the mister do it when he can. Unfortunately, now that it gets dark around 5 and he doesn’t get home until late, I might have to get myself a clicker 😉
    xo TJ

  33. jasna said:

    Amazing outfit!! 🙂 xx

  34. Oh goodness, I could hardly even tell that these were done by yourself. They turned out so well! I love your look, and you’re positively gorgeous! I totally feel you about the whole needing help situation though. I was so terrible at counting my hours during my summer job, that my boyfriend had to step in and double check my math!

  35. kat said:

    loveeeee this look! your jacket is awesome! you are soo pretty 🙂

    katslovefashion.blogspot.com

  36. Tiffany said:

    These turned out great! I tried the self-photo and couldn’t get it to focus right..I’m sure its an operator malfunction! I had always been incredibly independent until I started the blog. Now, I depend on my bf for taking photos, helping edit, and coding issues…it is quite a change. I think of it all as a growing experience!

    -Tiffany
    http://stylesidebar.blogspot.com/

  37. Maria said:

    100% Endorse your shorts + tights outfit 🙂

  38. trishie said:

    I think the photos turned out great!

  39. K said:

    I think you did a great job with these photos! Sometimes it does suck doing things alone but the reward is 100x greater because you know you achieved it all by yourself 🙂
    I adore your blog, would you like to follow each other?
    km-iamyou.blogspot.com.au
    xx.

  40. Amanda said:

    I think you already know that I take my own pictures with a self control… Taking them
    With the timer is super difficult.. Taking your own pictures with the tripod is just difficult in general… But for some reason when I ask like my little sister or somebody else to take them for me I frizz and I don’t even know where to start.. This probably cuz they are not that use to it and I’m starting use to stand with my tripod idk… I think it’s funny how we people love being and doing things on our own but we get there we realize that it’s always easier to do together.. Anyways I really enjoyed this post and also I think this pictures are pretty good! So good job! Hope your are having a great week ; )

    • Amanda said:

      oh Lord, sorry for the misspelling, I was texting with my iphone and I guess got a little bit too exited to anwer hehe =)

  41. cookies said:

    soo cool!
    xxx the cookies
    share the feeling
    visit ❤
    samecookiesdifferent.blogspot.com
    have a great day 🙂

  42. Your hair is gorgeous! Love your coat too, I need one like that.

  43. chloe said:

    verry nice look!Love your shoes!

  44. glorieta said:

    You have a GORGEOUS blog!!! Love it! Would be so happy if you stopped by my blog. If you follow let me know and i’ll follow back too! xoxo

  45. Love this combination, especially the striped shirt paired with that perfect jacket!

  46. Elena said:

    Beautiful colors! great outfit!

I adore each comment!

