Friday favorites

Bloglovin’ // Facebook // Twitter

I want to read a book, like a really good book.

How the hell do I find one?

I walked around Barnes & Noble yesterday for an hour, judging books by their covers. It didn’t work.
Recommendations anyone?

Until then, here’s what I’ve been obsessing over this week!

    • Listen to this: Ed Sheeran. A friend of mine likes this guy and I kept forgetting to look him up. Then, one fateful day, he was on the radio and my trusty Shazam app informed me that it was none other than Ed Sheeran. The thing I like most about this guy, besides his pretty, soothing voice and acoustic guitar riddled songs, is that you can hear his British accent when he sings. I’ve always wondered why the Brits’ accents go away when they sing. I am partial to the below song.
  • Read this: Not Without Salt. I have made it know that I am obsessed with food blogs. I just discovered Not Without Salt (um, where have I been?). Ashely not only creates beautiful, drool inducing recipes, but she has an amazing writing talent as well. I usually scroll through food blogs solely for the photos, but I cannot help but read every word of Ashley’s blog posts. Even if you are not much of a cook, I think her blog is a good read. Plus look how adorable she is:

  • Watch this: Castle. I’m a sucker for ABC dramadies. I am also a sucker for wittiness. I am also a sucker for Nathan Fillion.

  • Eat this: Maple Hot Cocoa. Let’s keep it within the theme with a recipe from Not Without Salt! It’s that time of year again. It’s time for hot chocolate. And, uh, maple hot chocolate with homemade marshmallows, what? I’ll have my thrice daily cup for the next three months please! Have you ever wondered why there is an “a” at the end of “cocoa”? It irks me.

  • Wear this: Kenny Clothes. Do you like pretty dresses? Then you will like Kenny Clothes. Infomercial speak aside, they have pretty, sparkly things and I know that we all need a little bit of pretty and sparkle in our lives.

  • Blog love: Boat Ride Through The Sky. Gela achieves the effortless chic look that I spend way too much striving for. And I’m almost positive that she does it by just walking into her closet. I’m sure her perfectly cute wardrobe just falls onto her cute little self, draped all perfectly, and she walks out this little stylish cute being that  wish I was. That, or she has great taste. And, yes, I might be a little jealous.

Um, for real. If you see people taking pictures, why do you continue to walk straight into the photo? As you can tell, it irks me. But behind your back. Because I’m fake nice like that.

Presenting this week’s Friday Favorite!

IMG_0222-out

Bloglovin’ // Facebook // Twitter

57 comments
  1. Gabriele said:

    Oh i also love ed sheeran so much.. he is amazing and a-team is one of his best songs!!

  2. I don’t read a lot of style blogs, leaning more towards sewing blogs myself, but I keep you in my reading queue because you put together cute and original outfits and I love your sarcastic sense of humor. For a good book, I’d recommend “The Three Musketeers”. Yes, it’s a “classic” but the plot moves fast and is much more interesting than various movie versions that take out all the good parts and replace them with cliched kid humor or steampunk gadgets would have you believe.

  3. Linda said:

    Oooh, I love Ed Sheeran! You really can hear his accent in his songs 🙂
    And thanks for introducing me to a new blogger – her style really is effortless!

    Trendy Teal

  4. Morgan said:

    Looooove Castle! One of my favorites for sure – and have you read Gone Girl? If not – read that, like, now. Amaze balls.

    Morgan
    seemomogo.blogspot.com

  5. Books recs: Hunger Games series & Game of Thrones series (if you haven’t read these already). After that, I’d say anything by Jennifer Weiner (author of “In Her Shoes”, book turned movie starring Cameron Diaz and Toni Collette). I recently read the Steve Jobs biography by Walter Isaacson which was pretty good. On my ‘to read’ list is “The Age of Miracle” by Karen Thompson Walker (was rec’d by another blogger, so I’m guessing it’s good). Hope that helps!

    Strive to Thrive,
    Nic
    http://www.Thriving-Wives.com

  6. Robin A. said:

    That hot cocoa must be made! I actually always liked that cocoa has an a at the end. It makes the word seem more cozy with a gentle little a tucked in at the end.

  7. Twitter! I’m all about classics so whenever I want something new, I just air the question out to all my followers and usually get great suggestions. I’ve been into anything Ann Patchett if that helps! And omg Castle…my boyfriend’s obsessed, which means I’m now a fan too haha. Gotta support Nathan Fillion though, a fellow Canadian!

    Alexandra xo

    tovogueorbust.com

  8. 50 shades of grey? 🙂
    great photos, nice post 🙂
    kisses

  9. Sam said:

    Love your writing…you’re so witty! Ohhhh can’t wait to check out Not Without Salt after this, sounds like my kinda webspace to hang out. Maple Hot Chocolate – yummilicious! Thanks for all your recommendations! have a great weekend hun!

  10. Lucka said:

    Amazing blog! I love Castle as well and I am crazy about Seamus Dever :)) My favorite book has to be Atonement.

    Kisses, Lucy:)

  11. Now you’ve got me craving hot chocolate. And then I want that great red Kenny dress!

    XOXO
    -Daisy Nguyen from the PS BANANAS! fashion blog: http://psbananas.com

  12. lovely photos and ed sheeran’s awesome ❤

    coffeebooksandcitylights.blogspot.com/
    facebook.com/rocknrolllies

  13. lauren said:

    That happens to me all the time in Barnes & Noble!! My friends keep on telling me you can’t go wrong with a classic such as a Tale of Two cities by Dickens!! One of these days…your blog is a fun read, who needs books anyway!!!!!LOL!

    Loving your blog,
    -Lauren at adorn la femme
    http://adornlafemme.blogspot.com/

  14. Jenny said:

    I second the suggestion of Gone Girl and I just read The Perks of Being a Wallflower and loved it! Such a great book, can’t wait to see the movie.

    xo Jenny
    [archi]dress

  15. jane said:

    Your posts are so interesting to read! Ed Sheeran is amazing, and for books you should read Recipe For Life by Nicki Pellegrino or perhaps Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly. Good luck finding one!
    Xo Jane

    http://thetaleoftwobuttons.blogspot.com

  16. What a great post! I love finding new things to check out, thank you 🙂

    shygirlloudvoice.blogspot.com

  17. gigi said:

    anything by jodi picoult is what im loving right now for books. and that hot chocolate has my tummy grumbling right now. will be trying that! xx. gigi. food and beauty blogger @ http://www.gigikkitchen.blogspot.com

  18. kuti said:

    omg!! you are really goood on writing.. thats cooool!! inspired me a lot.. and i enjoy every single of your word.. love it.. seem you had a great friday.. hmmm book!? i don’t know, cause lately i’m looking for a new book too read..

  19. fragiusti90@live.it said:

    love this pics and also your blog! It’s so nice!!! I follow you!
    Pass to my blog and if it likes you follow me too, I will be so glad 😀
    kisses
    http://francescagiusti.blogspot.com

  20. lovelyyyy..

    thanks for your sweet comments and visit us again:))

    keep warm

    xoxo
    selvia

    am2pmchic.com

  21. Kat said:

    What a great post!!! So much to try.
    I have never tried homemade marshmallows, but they look fantastic!

    Thanks for dropping by our blog. We’re so glad to have discovered yours xo

    http://swagnstyle.blogspot.ca

  22. Kaity said:

    I am so obsessed with Ed Sheeran! his voice is just perfect.

  23. Read “Brave new world” from Aldous Huxley 🙂

    fashionindahat.com

  24. and now i just can’t stop thinking about maple hot chocolate with marshmallows…

  25. fifiphi said:

    Oh Lord, that hot chocolate sounds amazing. I gave into Starbucks Holiday flavors and had 3 peppermint mochas. In 2 days. I have mixed feelings about this.

    Love all your commentary in this post!

    -fifi

  26. Ramona said:

    Cocoa is so perfect in chilly days.mmm…. And gosh, I want some pretty dress, there isn’t such a thing as too many pretty dresses 🙂

    xoxo Ra

  27. Kim said:

    I’ve picked up and abandoned my last 3 books. :o( I was reading Game of Thrones forever. But try Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese if you haven’t already, I think it was the last book I enjoyed pre-Game of Thrones. Now I’m reading In the Woods by Tana French. It’s okay, sticking with it so far. Good luck!

    Kim

    http://loopsoflavender.blogspot.com/

  28. Um I am dying for a cup of hot cocoa now! OMG yummy!

  29. Tanja said:

    such an inspirational post! Love the song 🙂

  30. Dane said:

    OMG! I love Ed Sheeran especially his “Kiss Me” song. have you listened to it? Check it out! 🙂

    THE UNCANNY GIRL

  31. ifandany said:

    i’d recommend the time travelers wife, by audrey niffenegger. it’s one of my top favorite books of all time.

  32. jasna said:

    Loved your post hun 🙂

  33. Pingback: URL

  34. georgi said:

    this is amazing, and i love your post above about bloggers in true light. The amount of times I stop shooting because of the background or the way the outfit looks on camera…!
    Georgi
    http://www.addressbookblog.com
    I’d love if you stopped by?

  35. anonymous said:

    Your blog is so cool! The posts are always funny and personal! I really liked the ‘wear this’ ‘listen to this’ ‘eat this’ … aspect of this post! Want to follow each other?! Xx- mintclothingcompany.blogspot.com

  36. Not Without Salt is a great food blog! I can’t get enough of looking at delicious food pictures. Thanks for introducing me!

I adore each comment!

