Friday favorites

Bloglovin’ // Facebook // Twitter

Are you superstitious?

I’m not. But just in case, I might be a little. Meaning, I don’t want to be, but sometimes I pretend that I am. I avoid cracks in the sidewalk; Would you willingly break your mama’s back? I make sure my umbrella is closed before entering a building, walk around ladders, loath black cats, and pick up ‘lucky’ pennies.

But most of all, when something good may happen, I try not to tell many people or talk about it too much, no matter how much I want to. I will not risk jinxing anything. Hint hint.

But I’m not superstitious.

    • Listen to this: Phillip Phillips. Enough with the indie rock, is probably what you’re thinking. Ok, here’s some mainstream goodness for your ears. Yes, he won American Idol, but like Kelly Clarkson, he is the real deal. I assume you have all heard his single Home, it was the theme song for the 2012 Olympics, but I urge you to listen to this whole album. Below is just one of my favorites, “Gone, Gone, Gone”.
  • Read this: Dean Koontz. I love me some Dean Koontz. I love thriller, mystery, and murder novels, which is funny to me because I spend the entire run time of a scary movie alternating between closing my eyes and covering my ears. Fun fact, I was in the trailer for the first Paranormal Activity trailer; all reactions are completely real. We had no idea what the movie was about. See me at :45 seconds. Eyes closed? Check. Ears covered? Check. Back to Dean Koontz. When I start reading one of his books, I cannot stop. I just picked up a few at a used book store and I am eager to get into them. The Key to Midnight was one of his first books I read and still one of my favorites.

Dean Koontz

    • Watch this: Shameless. Showtime really cannot do wrong, but they really are bringing it with Shameless, It is adapted from a U.K. show,  because aren’t all U.K. adapted shows better? William H. Macy, Joan Cusack, and Emmy Rossum. Do I need to tell you more? This is one of my favorite shows, and I don’t even have Showetime. Poor Ugly Mug has to put up with my watching it on On Demand when I visit, which means he has to watch it twice, because he is a fan too and usually has already watched it. I also definitely do not illegally stream the show. That would be wrong. Watch the season 3 trailer below.
  • Eat this: Black Bean Enchiladas with Roasted Red Pepper Sauce. Everything about that name makes me want to eat this three times a day for the next two weeks. And the fact that Kate added avocado on top, what is any food wrapped in a tortilla without avocado anyway, makes it that much more mouth watering. I bookmarked this recipe as, “yum”.

  • Wear this: Motel Rocks. If you are in need of a party dress, look no further than Motel Rocks. AH-MAZING! Not only do they have amazing party dresses, but they have a rock chic inspired bevy of any other clothing you might want to just bury yourself in. Window shop, buy, wear, love, and repeat. p.s. anyone want to buy me the dress below? kthanksbye. But, seriously.

motelrocks

inspira

Happy FRIDAY fail.

My attempt at an artsy self portrait. Thank God for Ugly Mug!

IMG_1181-out

Bloglovin’ // Facebook // Twitter

39 comments
  1. Thank you for this post, I just love everything about it! It really gives ideas 🙂 and the enchiladas look just… delicious, omg x
    parisian-fairytale.blogspot.fr

  2. Lovely and inspirational post of good tunes and style. Happy weekend. 🙂
    Love the first song!

  3. Ha, I am the same way about good news. I try not to think/talk about it for fear it will all come tumbling down. Those enchiladas look delicious, thanks for sharing!

    Strive to Thrive,
    Nic
    http://www.Thriving-Wives.com

  4. Katie said:

    four last links are my favs ❤

  5. I am totally superstitious. I used to think that I wasn’t.. or I pretended that I wasn’t, but reality is, I totally am! 🙂

    xo, Yi-chia
    Always Maylee

  6. Emily said:

    Great suggestions, per the usual! I love all of you link round ups. Can’t wait to check out your blogger suggestion. And I love that Phillip Phillips song!
    Isn’t That Charming.

  7. Sam said:

    So many great favourites, most of which I had no idea of, so thanks for the introductions! I really like your cute self portrait, it came out great!

  8. Melissa said:

    Lovely lovely list! & although im not a fan of enchiladas. Those look bomb. Oh yes and to add to your tally. I wouldn’t technically consider myself superstitious but…. I do have a favorite number and avoid those darn cracks!

  9. I love Phillip Phillips! This is great song… it’s very Mumford, with a twist 🙂

  10. Wish you a lovely Sunday! Listen sweetie, would you like ot follow each other via bloglovin? I find it much easier to use and keep updated with my fav blogs 🙂

  11. emily ho said:

    Chanced upon your blog and enjoy reading it!

  12. My mom is super superstitious. It actually annoys me a lot, but I guess I can be a little superstitious at times, too. Although….I’ve opened so many umbrellas in my house already…

    I’ve always been curious with Dean Koontz. I always see his books displayed in the book store.

    Amazing outfit! 😀 Very artsy, indeed!

    nyuu
    lolitium.net

  13. Lauren said:

    You look amaze in the little white dress! And I remember catching a segment of Phillip on American Idol~ and thinking how unique he is! Love you both for your one-of-a-kindness!! And so excited to hear your upcoming news!!!!

  14. i’m the same way! (not in the umbrella and ladder stuff, but with something big happening and i hardly tell a soul)! I get it!

    merry christmas, stop by for a visit!

    Lydia from Vintage2Vogue

    http://vintagetwovogue.blogspot.com

  15. nice photographs! wanna follow each other on bloglovin’? 😀

  16. i have never seen shameless, but i want to. and yes, those enchiladas look amazing. and i will have to check out kathleen’s blog because she is adorable!

  17. THE-LOUDMOUTH said:

    Okay, you sold me on those enchiladas, and Inspirafashion is probably going to be my new favorite blog now. Thanks!

  18. heather said:

    Everytime Home came on during the Olympics for the woman’s gymnastics it brought a tear to my eye. Actually I can’t lie when I still listen to it now it brings a tear to my eye. He’s really talented. Anyway love your hair in the last picture!


    heather
    fashionistanygirl.com

  19. Rachel said:

    Love Motel Rocks and that food looks delicious!!

  20. Izzy said:

    Motel Rocks does have some amazing party dresses! love the food as well, looks healthy and yummy!

I adore each comment!

