Impersonal improvement

Bloglovin’ // Facebook // Twitter

Have you ever felt that you had so much to do, didn’t know where to start, so you just didn’t? Accidental procrastination, I say; I actually do want to do it all.

What is it with the end of a year and the impending new year that puts so much pressure on us to live and do better, faster, longer, stronger? A new year does not wipe our slate clean, yet it seems that is how everyone feels with a big sigh of relief and a brand new attitude each January 1st. Unfortunately, for most, a short time later, we revert to our old habits.

Maybe we should resolve to work on ourselves, for ourselves, all year around. We do not magically change just because the year changes. That’s what I have been working on the last couple of years and I think I’ve grown because of it.

Deep stuff, right? I bet I just changed your whole life.

So, onto important stuff. Like clothes and the weather.

It was a rare warm spell in the middle of the day when we snapped these photos. Then it got freezing; like it should be in December.

IMG_1828-out

IMG_1891-out

IMG_1909-out

// Jacket: Heart Clothing Boutique // Pants, Blouse, & Boots: Thrifted via Crossroads Trading Co // Hat: Thrifted via Buffalo Exchange // Purse: Sister hand me down //

Ugly Mug was far too occupied with his real job to take my photos, so his sister graciously stepped in for him. Together, we know nothing about cameras, aperture, lighting, shadows, and the likes. But, we know when we see a cool wall in the middle of Hollywood.

I couldn’t decide if I liked this hat with this outfit or not; aka my hair was a hot mess (humidity, get out of my life) so I wanted to cover it, but I knew the hat didn’t necessarily go.Β So, you decide.

IMG_1837-out

IMG_1862-out

IMG_1845-out

IMG_1848-out

New (old) purse, new (old) purse! I am one of the lucky few older sisters who gets hand me downs from my younger sister. I don’t know where she got it, but I sure am glad she stole one of my bags, meaning I got to steal one of hers.

IMG_1899-out

IMG_1861-out

IMG_1886-out

Bloglovin’ // Facebook // Twitter

79 comments
  1. Whoa that is pretty deep, but a very good thought. I love your outfit. The reds and greens are so perfect for the season without being annoying LOL I think you and your sister did a great job with the photos today!

  2. Great photos . Ugly mug’s sister has a new career pathway as a fashion photog.

  3. Ooh I love all these shots! She did an amazing job with them! πŸ™‚
    And yes, I agree, just because it’s a new year doesnt mean your mind will forget all your habits, haha…so I don’t bother with resolutions
    http://www.closet-fashionista.com/

  4. ettututu said:

    That’s a really cool mural, and Ugly Mug’s sister takes great photos!

    -Lindsey

  5. Amanda said:

    oh this look looks soo good, love the colors and you put it all together =)

  6. Jamie Rose (Petite Panoply) said:

    The mix of color in this outfit is so pretty. I just love the green top with your colorful pants. I like the hat you wore with this too! And your purse is fantastic. That’s pretty great that you get hand-me-downs from your younger sister.

  7. We don’t change just because the year changes. So true, girl. This seems to really relate to what I’ve been trying to talk about. it all really depends on ourselves.

  8. Amandine said:

    Great outfit, love the colors! And you’re right, it doesn’t make any sense to decide working on yourself just because a new year is coming… (and you’ll feel much more proud of yourself if, one day, you decide to change and then stick to it!)

  9. Carina said:

    The outfit is so beautiful, i love the colours you put together here! There#s such a nice boho feel about the whole look!
    Haha accidental procrastination – this is so fitting! I totally know what you mean πŸ™‚

  10. I like the outfit and the hat init.
    I totally agree, we should all just work on ourselves and not look at the time or season but do it constantly!

  11. Ashley said:

    Loving your hat, it definitely goes! Great colors in this outfit, refreshing from the sea of grey and black I see at work every day!

  12. Ruth said:

    I love everything about these photographs. They look great. I also dig your profound thoughts and I happen to agree with you…

  13. I say skip the hat, it almost makes the outfit too busy. Plus your hair is so pretty! LOVE that wall, for not knowing anything about photography these pics turned out great πŸ™‚

    Strive to Thrive,
    Nic
    http://www.Thriving-Wives.com

  14. anu said:

    Lovely blouse. I know what you mean about being lazy. I am so scared to look at my new years resolution from last year. ahh.

    ps: thank you for stopping by

    http://www.visceralmaze.blogspot.com

    Anu

  15. Beautiful shots. I love the colours in this outfit, especially the blouse.

    Bisous
    Suzanne

  16. Ashley said:

    Great post. I like the idea of working on yourself, for yourself all year round. Also love this outfit.

    xo Ashley

  17. G.TA said:

    love the colours!! looks Christmasy!! =`)

  18. Coco said:

    Great outfit,great shooting,great model:-)

  19. Subham Rai said:

    ‘ You’re comment seriously made my day !
    Thank you so much for stopping by my blog !
    Followed you in GFC , hope you follow back !

  20. Lilli said:

    Super cute! I like the pants and how you matched the colors! Kisses! xoxo

  21. Procrastination! I’m on that program! I did use a vacation day today to get some stuff done before I have a panic attack lol! I love your burgundy jeans and you look good in hats!! I also love the color combo with that jacket!

  22. Carmen said:

    Great outfit, I like the red and green together!
    xx

  23. Qoqo said:

    Nice outfit, love the colors matched so well ❀

  24. Naina said:

    I can totally vouch for that hat, gives you a very ‘I’m chic and I know it’ vibe.

    SIDEWALKCATWALKS.com

  25. Susie said:

    Digging your colors here – that top is gorgeous. And awesome new (old) bag!

    Sea and Swank

  26. anna said:

    Every year I’m wondering what I could change. It’s never easy to focus but the hardest things require lots of effort and sacrifices.

  27. Sam said:

    Hey doll, I am continually impressed by your savvy sense of style, i love the urbane bohemian feel of this look, the colour mixing is fantastic and its accessorized perfectly!

  28. blasfemmes said:

    Lovely outfit! Love these colours mixed together πŸ™‚

    xx,

    Sandra @ Blasfemmes.com

  29. I love the colors in your look. Your pants are fantastic!

  30. Rachel said:

    Such a chic look! Love those pants and shoes especially!

  31. Levi said:

    Fair point well made, i totally agree with you on that. You really have to make work out of it to change – on the inside – time will only change the outside of us πŸ™‚

    http://www.tlnique.blogspot.com

  32. Well, the photos certainly came out wonderful! I like the hat and these close up shots!

  33. fiona said:

    I am a master procrastinator 😦 I love your colour palette though- this would be my perfect autumn outfit!!

  34. I do think it’s the end of the year that puts a lot of pressure on us!!! Your outfit is so lovely! I need those colored pants in my life!

  35. jenny ly said:

    love the outfit! i need those pants.

  36. First of all, love the colors, great match.
    Pants, hat and bag are my favorites πŸ™‚

  37. Jalecia said:

    Love the contrast of colors from your jacket & pants! It screams fall/winter time ❀ Awesome look.

  38. Kate said:

    All these colors together are GORGEOUS!!!

    I’m following you on Bloglovin now!

  39. cheyenne said:

    i could’ve written this!
    but i’m going to do my best next year, and stick to my resolutions.
    oh, and damn – you look amazing!
    xo, cheyenne

  40. Haha, I thoroughly enjoyed the turns this rant took. Accidental procrastination – that’s MY biggest vice! Damn you Internet and everything nostalgic around the house…. Anyway, I really love how the colors come together in this outfit/photos. Nice little set!

  41. Olivia said:

    Holy cow! Just found your blog through a comment you left on M Loves M and I just have to say – what a beautiful outfit! Great quality photos, too. I’m impressed. Followed for sure.
    xo
    Olivia
    http://www.wanderlust-and-such.blogspot.com

  42. I cANNOT believe you thrifted those pants. Seriously. I’ve been looking for a good fitting pair of red corduroys for FOREVER and you find yours at a thrift store? Completely unfair.

    Obsessed with you, as usual.
    I like the hat w/ the outfit. I actually think it completes it nicely.

    And you did change my life. Deeply.

    -Gabrielle

  43. Katie said:

    I love this outfit. I just adore hats! xo

I adore each comment!

