Friday favorites

Bloglovin’ // Facebook // Twitter

It definately does not feel like Friday. Maybe because we had New Years Day off and having a day off thrown into the middle of the week creates the illusion of a new week when you go back to work.

But I have got to say TGIF anyway because, damn this holiday season has taken it out of me. That, or I just prefer weekends over weekdays. Duh.

Have you taken the Seeking Style reader survey yet? Quick and painless!

  • Listen to this: Hunter Hayes. My 14 year old cousin schooled me the other day. For a split second, I thought this song was by The Wanted. Only because I heard the radio say “wanted”, so knowing she’s a One Direction fanatic, I asked her if she likes The Wanted. “This isn’t the Wanted! This is Hunter Hayes!” If I had waited one second to ask and listened to the song first, I would have known that too. Moral of the story, think before you speak. Especially to a teenager. Also, listen to Hunter Hayes if you like a good pop country fusion.
    • Read this: 10 Things Girls Always do in Movies and Never in Real Life. The first one on the list sucked me right in: Answering the phone without saying hello, and hanging it up without saying goodbye. That is my number one movie pet peeve. Shut up, you have movie pet peeves too. If you like the first list, check out reader submitted peeves (why the “pet” before the “peeve”?), here. One that is missing, and probably a tie for my number one, is not using toothpaste when brushing one’s teeth in movies. There is no way you have that bright white movie star smile without toothpaste.

0627_phone_ob

  • Watch this: Dance Like Nobody’s Watching. This girl is awesome; I wish I was this brave. And awesome. And that I could dance. The only thing I wish was different about these videos is that they were 1) Longer, and 2) People reacted more and danced with her. Prudes.
  • Eat this: Grilled Eggplant with Herbed Quinoa. Since everyone is pretending to be healthy in the new year, I decided to feature a healthy recipe in place of the usual cupcake/cookie/brownie/diabetes trifecta that I usually share. This recipe combines two of my favorite foods: quinoa and eggplant. If Sara was my personal chef, I think I could die happy. Happy and healthy. Her blog is not called Sprouted Kitchen for nothing. Please don’t judge me for admitting that I may have produced some drool thinking about this dish topped with some feta cheese. Like, Homer Simpson style.

EGGPLANT_06

  • Wear this: Firmoo. Firmoo is an online eyeglasses retailer. How is it possible to choose glasses online without even trying them on? Oh, it’s possible. With Firmoo, you can digitally try on every pair of glasses, read reviews of the frames, and browse through user submitted photos. Yes, that means that you can be sitting at home, in bed, in pajamas, munching on your favorite snacks, watching your favorite movie while simutaneousy reading the new issue of Glamour, trying on super cute and affordable frames. See how you can get a free pair here! Check out the pair Firmoo sent me!

firmoo

firmoo2

  • Blog love: Cocorosa. She’s practically Carrie Bradshaw. Can I even say that? Can there ever be another? There might be. It might be Chantal. I want to be her when I grow up.

cocorosa-christmasday2-6

Friday fail!

Apparently something was really funny. This looks like a big belly laugh; a la Santa Claus.

fail

Bloglovin’ // Facebook // Twitter

32 comments
  1. I’m still on Winter Break and I have no idea what day it is! I love that song and CocoRosa is amazing! I love your Santa look! Awesome! Oh, and great glasses too–love them on you! Have a great weekend!!!

  2. Yay I love these posts! currently reading the 10 things girls do in movies!

  3. Nice post! I really liked the movie pet peeves, so true… 😉
    The girl who dances is so cool, loved it, especially at the laundromat!
    And you look great with those sunglasses on, I love them!
    Oh, and I think I’ll try this recipe…

  4. Jamie said:

    I just found your blog and I love it 🙂

  5. mili said:

    omg that glamour article was perfection! people who unrealistically go to stellar schools or attain amazing jobs after doing nothing in movies is one of my biggest pet peeves! you look super cute in your sparkley dress 🙂

    Mili from call me, Maeby

  6. MissEcl said:

    Love that post!! The 10 things girls do in mlvies but dont in real life is very interesting 🙂 and the last picture is so beautiful ❤ happy new year!

  7. Mina said:

    I really love this post! Thank you! Especially the dancing like no one is watching video. Definitely going on my bucket list.

  8. Amanda said:

    Happy New year, I really like your dress from your previous post… And I also wanted to say congratulation for getting engage =)

  9. This is such a great post! You reminded me that I really need to try out Firmoo. Heading over to check out their site now! xoxo

  10. Bree said:

    Gotta love your Friday favorites! I totally enjoyed listening to Hunter Hayes and watching that talented girl dance her ass off. Also, the eggplant dish is definitely drool-worthy. By the way, Firmoo is great! 🙂

    P.S. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    – B
    http://vivalabreee.blogspot.com/
    Twitter | Facebook | Facebook Page

  11. fiona said:

    oh wow your blog is just jam packed with awesome content! I’ve never realised all those movie pet peeves until now :O

  12. Rachel said:

    These photos are so cute! I love the sparkly outfit and the video of the girl dancing!

  13. You are very funny! I have to agree with your first pet peeve – I hate it when people hang up without saying goodbye in movies or tv shows. And automatically the other person on the line hangs up too…like they know the conversation is over. Well if it were me, I’d still be like, “Hello? Are you there? Did you just hang up on me?” LOL whatever. I just got done watching Gossip Girl on Netflix and I can’t believe how many times this exact phone thing happened!!!!
    http://thebeautybrunette.blogspot.com

  14. Jen said:

    Great list! That eggplant looks incredibly delicious- thanks for sharing! And I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who gets puzzled when people on tv/in movies never answer or end phone calls properly. It is annoying! 😉

    -Jen

    http://www.vibrantbeautyblog.com

  15. Ashley said:

    I loved this post 🙂 Movie pet peeves are such a part of my life!
    xo Ashley
    luckylittlebird.blogspot.com

  16. Linda said:

    I hate that in movies too! Who DOES that?? Ha, glad to know I’m not the only one annoyed by that too.

    Trendy Teal

I adore each comment!

