Boho or hobo?

Bloglovin’ // Facebook // Twitter

These photos were taken last weekend, during my “second Christmas”. I was forced to decided to give Ugly Mug the weekend off of shooting, and my cousin Melissa graciously offered to shoot for me, after I promised her a shout out. Hi Melissa!

So, sometimes I dress like a hobo. And sometimes that means we go for walks where hobos may or may not be. This was one of those times. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve warned Ugly Mug ahead of times about my outfit with, “I’m going for gypsy,” meaning, “I know I look like a hobo, but I know what I am doing and it’s really bohemian, gypsy (in my eyes).” He hears, “I am dressing like a hobo today.” Fair enough.

I don’t even think I know how to put together a bohemian outfit, but I do know that when I try, I end up comfortable.

I must admit that my “hobo” outfits usually end up being my favorite. Truthfully, when I did not have the hat or coat on, I did look like I fell into a pile of laundry, but I was indoors, safe from the public eye, when that happened.

IMG_3097-out

IMG_3092-out

// Skirt: Pac Sun // Sweater: Thrifted via Crossroads Trading Co // Shoes: H & M // Hat: Marshalls // Coat: Tulle via Nordstrom //

Since we would be losing light soon, we decided to walk to the park to take photos, and then proceeded into the dried up creek. No, I wouldn’t necessarily wear this outfit for a spontaneous hike, but at least I had on flat shoes.

IMG_3032-out

IMG_3039-out

IMG_3073-out

IMG_3072-out

Let me tell you about taking your family along for outfit shoots: You’re going to be mocked. There is no ifs, ands, or buts about it. I have the proof.

IMG_3063-out

IMG_3062-out

IMG_3061-out

My revenge was making them take photos for me again the next day. And posting these.

Thank you again to my cousin for taking these photos and putting up with my “guidence”. Ugly Mug still gets credit for coloring the photos because apparently I can’t do anything for this blog on my own.

IMG_3089-out

IMG_3014-out

Bloglovin’ // Facebook // Twitter

59 comments
  1. racheltr said:

    Love your hat and bag! These pictures are very pretty πŸ™‚

  2. Really gorgeous light in these πŸ™‚ Nice work, Melissa. And I like your “hobo” outfit, Jennifer πŸ˜‰

    Smiles and all the best,
    Savannah
    untetheredasacloud.wordpress.com

  3. Andrea said:

    haha i laughed when I read your description for the gypsy/hobo/boho look. Boho is probably one of my favourite looks when done properly, and you pull it off really well. I feel like I would have no chance of not looking like a hobo lol. Love the rings! I’ve got 3 on myself right now lol
    ~Andrea
    http://www.wearitbetter.com

  4. Haha I’m pretty sure I would be mocked endlessly if it weren’t for self timer!
    Just stumbled upon your gorgeous blog and am a huge fan! Loooooooving it.

    mucho love
    xo
    Nicole

  5. Rachel said:

    SO TRUE! my family does the same stuff πŸ™‚ too fun! i just love your blog πŸ™‚
    xoRach

  6. Such a great outfit – looks super comfy. This is definitely a “boho” style outfit πŸ™‚

  7. Lee said:

    Thank you for your comment! Oh, congratulations on your engagement! I know it is a few weeks late but, I only just discovered your blog! I love this outfit here. Bohemian fashion is great.

    Lee

  8. Amaris said:

    This is NOT even a hobo outfit! You haven’t seen anything yet …. haha!

  9. you look great as always dear πŸ˜‰

  10. I love your style of writing and I totally see Gypsy Boho here πŸ˜‰

  11. Cornelia said:

    AHH soo beautiful lady.

    Hope you have had a nice week!
    Check out my latest outfits.

    xx

    Cornelia

  12. I love dressing hobo too – as you say, hobo is always comfortable … although you really don’t look hobo-ish in these photos.

    HAHA @ your family! This was a hilarious read!

  13. I love this! One of my favorite outfits Ive seen on anyone in a while!
    <3Chelsea Elizabeth

  14. Charity said:

    I like your hobo look–I call it boho chic πŸ˜‰

  15. Hobos are the most comfortable people out there, right? (At least, regarding fashion…) You look super cute!

  16. G.TA said:

    love this outfit!! cute hat!! =`)

  17. Loving the hat! So much joy in these shots too.

  18. Mancina said:

    great outfit, and love the photos! you look so happy ❀

  19. Qoqo said:

    I love the outfit, and the photos are so pretty ❀ ❀

  20. Mathilde said:

    you look great, love this outfit!
    xo
    parisian-fairytale.blogspot.fr

  21. Ester said:

    aww love your outfit, so boho chic!

  22. Kristian said:

    Ha! I love these types of photos the most too. There’s a certian attraction in the feeling that an outfit is laidback (even if you spent a lot of time thinking about what to wear you communicate nonchalance). Plus, how can one go wrong with a hat on? You just can’t!

  23. Rebecca said:

    Love the bag! Also like that you included some of your photo entourage as well! Always fun to see the other people associated with a blog!

    http://mn2nz.wordpress.com

  24. Nada said:

    Love the pictures so much , the outfit is so bohemian chic , love it ❀

    Thanks for commenting on my blog πŸ™‚ do you want to follow each other ? πŸ™‚

    And I know all about taking family to outfit shoots πŸ˜€ in fact my sister is my photographer πŸ˜€

    http://www.stylista0fashionista.blogspot.com

    Xo
    Nada

  25. Emma said:

    You look AMAZING in this post. I love your hat. Such a cute giggle face you got going there!

    Em x

  26. Boho for sure.
    Reason #1: everything you’re wearing is not covered in dirt/feces/other questionable substances.
    Reason B: you look adorable. Hobos just look kind of ominous/contagious. you just look comfy.

    thanks for stopping by my blog, I love your style, lady.

    -Lola
    GYPSI

  27. I like this post, enjoyed this one thanks for putting up.

I adore each comment!

