Wedding inspiration

Bloglovin’ // Facebook // Twitter

I was never a Pinterest-er until I got engaged. I have never so much as planned a small party, let alone the most important gathering of people of my life, so I turned to Pinterest for a place to save inspirational ideas. Depending on how you see it, unfortunately, I am now addicted to Pinterest. Not unfortunately, I am gathering a million and one ideas!

Here are some ideas that I am loving for an early summer wedding (of next year).

Location, location, location! We are having our wedding in Northern California, where there is no shortage of wineries and farmland. We are currently on the hunt for a local barn to hold our ceremony and wedding. Ideally, we would like the ceremony to take place outdoors and then move into the barn for dinner and the reception. I would love to have everything outdoors, but because of the time of year (estimating mid June) I am nervous about insects and weather.

Click on each photo to view the original source.

d12857bdc1d76fa62cd944a4e341ad12

404699_10150495213919983_721704982_8831270_683497118_n

7b89f7c0e21e29454e1bcef4f0e55bc9

Lighting: I am obsessed with small white lights. After next Christmas, I am already planning on buying out all stores of white lights while they are on clearance. I image a lot of small, twinkly lights and Chinese lanters. I want it to feel romantic and intimate.

094$!x600

light-bulb-wedding-01

I have never thought that center pieces have to be these large, grand things. How can you talk to the people around you when you can’t see over the center pieces? I love the idea of small, simple decor. I am leaning towards mason jars, wildflowers, or small candles, and nuetrals colors.

-531$!x600

Multiple-Mason-Jar-Bouquet-e1340164617842

dlb_0409$!x600

For guests, one of the most important parts of a wedding is the food. Don’t lie. Everyone loves a free meal. We haven’t thought of dinner itself yet, but we’ve put a little thought into snacks and extras. I am dead set on the idea of a “midnight” snack of sliders and fries or milk and cookies. Or both. It is a celebration, after all!

0_0_0_0_236_265_csupload_47026971_large

mwds10673_win11_jen_kevin_006_xl

I am leaning toward a very simple cake. I am also considering baking it myself, because, you know, I won’t have five hunderd million other things on my mind the weeks leading up to my wedding. We are also having an ice cream sundae bar because we are awesome.

olive-branch-wedding-cake1

69f68033199da5a80f5e66f128d95030

And, of course, the dress. This will single handedly be the hardest decision for me. All I know is that I love illusion necklines. I am going wedding dress shopping in a couple of weeks!

2013-wedding-dress-by-enzoani-bridal-hanako__full

vera-wang-wedding-dresses-fall-2010-illusion-neckline-black-sash__full

8fb75f0ea007b04b6a5a8c0578368389

Follow my Wedding Pinterest board to keep up with my ever growning inspiration pins!

Do you have any web site recommendations for Wedding tips, ideas, and inspiration?

Bloglovin’ // Facebook // Twitter

37 comments
  1. If you are planning to DIY anything, Martha Stewart is a great resource for ideas and tips! I picked up a couple of her wedding magazines, and used a few things off her website, to make my own bouquets. Not only were they super easy to make, but they turned out really good for how craft-challenged I can be! That woman knows DIY for sure!

  2. Oh my goddddddd your inspiration mirrors mine! I just got engaged as well and we just booked our (Central California) barn venue. It’s called the Dana Powers barn, just south of San Luis Obispo? You might want to check it out!
    love all of the photos here, it’s getting me even more excited as well!!


    Nicole

  3. Leigh said:

    When it came to flowers at my reception, I kept things so simple in order to just kind of let the riverboat speak for itself. I went to ikea and bought tiny vases and then put a single sunflower in each vase. It was so simple and just beautiful. And everybody could see each other! A little tip if available in California: for our flowers we found a wholesale retailer that also helped weddings make their own arrangements and bouquets! It was so fun to do the day before our wedding and probably x5 cheaper.

  4. Carmen said:

    How cute, loving all these original places and decoration! And the first dress looks amazing 🙂
    xx

  5. Katie said:

    Your wedding inspirations are amazing ❤ So so beautiful.

  6. Meghan said:

    I just got engaged, too, and turned to pinterest—holy cow, SO many idea on there! I will definitely be following your board!

    #8o3
    Meghan
    alionheartblog.blogspot.com

  7. Morgan said:

    I cannot WAIT to see pics of your wedding – I’m sure it’s going to be amazing! My sister was married in Los Olivos at the Firestone Vineyard and it was stunning. The barn the reception was held in (and the wedding pics in the vineyard!) were so incredible. Great choice!

    xo
    See Mo Go.

  8. Amanda said:

    Oh how beautiful it looks super personal, I think you should definitely go in this direction. I adore the first and the last wedding dress inspo.. I think u gonna look gorgeous =)

  9. Sofia said:

    Great post filled with amazing ideas.

    If you get a sec, check out my latest post ‘Parisian Style’.

    XO
    Sofia

    stylishlyinlove.blogspot.com

  10. Aww what a cute and rustic wedding, super adorable! You should check my first post from Paris Fashion Week with me covering the Charlotte Olympia FAIRYTALE presentation, be prepared to be wow-ed with enchanted accessories including clock boots, grimm book clutches, and Rapunzel stilettos. Hope they fully provoke the heck out of you! ❤

    xx The Provoker
    http://www.the-provoker.com/2013/03/once-upon-time.html

  11. Theresa said:

    I totally know what you mean. I didn’t really start using pinterest either until I got engaged as well. I used stylemepretty a lot because it was an easy way to browse thru tons of weddings across many different spectrums.I’m really loving the inspiration you’re thinking of for your big day. Best of luck with the whole process and congrats on your engagement!

    xxTheresa

    The Habit

  12. Chelsea said:

    Word, on being addicted (Especially with having a new flat)! Loving your wedding ideas so far!
    Cx

  13. Those mini burgers and fries are so cute. I look forward to seeing how this summer wedding looks! Don’t forget to earn daily entries in my GIVEAWAY 🙂

  14. Jenn said:

    I love everything that you posted here! What a wonderful wedding you’ll have!

  15. That last dress is perfection, I love the low back. Pinterest was such a huge help in planning our wedding, which was a complete DIY affair at a family summer cottage. We ended up choosing babies breath as our flower to give that rustic wild feel, and as a bonus it’s also a fraction of the cost. You can check out pictures of the decor here:
    http://nicola-lynde.blogspot.dk/2012/05/diy-wedding-decorations.html

    Also I can’t help but give this piece of advice to every soon to be bride I come in contact with, no high heels before the wedding. Namely the week before, and especially if drinks are involved. I managed to break my foot just one week before the big day! So sneakers it is….

  16. Noemi said:

    It seems that your wedding will be great for you, of course, and all the guests. The wedding dress with the black sash is so beautiful! I really like the simple way to decorate the tables, the vases with the ribbon, lovely.

    http://www.webelieveinstyle.net

  17. Ha! Thank goodness for pinterest, right? Seems to be what I’m using to plan our wedding with too. Loving all your inspiration. Its gonna be a special day for sure!

I adore each comment!

