The writing on the wall

Bloglovin’ // Facebook // Twitter

This weekend, I learned that karma is real. It’s real and it’s scary and unfair when it hits you. Except that it’s not unfair because it hits you because you deserve it. It bitch slaps you, really. Let me rewind. I like thrifting. Ok, I love it. So when I pass by a Goodwil that I’ve never been in, I stop. Wouldn’t you? I’m wandering around, not looking for anything in particular when I spot these deep red, short heeled, a little more than ankel height, boots. Correction, boot. A boot that is in my size, yes, but only one boot. After looking throughout the whole store, and asking employees, for the misplaced left boot, I give up. I have a strong suspicion someone hid one boot in order to come back and buy the pair when they could.

Oh, you’re wondering where the kama comes in? A few weeks ago I hid a fur stole in a purse at Goodwill. I suppose karma doesn’t care that when I went back the next day that it was gone anyway.

Moral of the story: Don’t hide stuff when you’re thrifting. It’s not fair. But if you must, because I get that sometimes you really need a pair of really great boots even when your bank account is not currently flourishing as well as you’d hoped, do it well.

Also, hide both boots because it’s already enough that you’re getting really awesome boots for super cheap. You don’t have to ruin someone else’s day.

The End.

IMG_2979

IMG_3003

// Coat: Via Crossroads Trading Co. // Pants: Thrifted via Crossroads Trading Co. // Shirt: Urban Outfitters // Hat: Forever 21 // Boots: Target //

IMG_3014

IMG_3007

IMG_3010

I like to look casual and candid when taking outfit photos, so of course, the obvious solution is aimlessly walking around, pretending I have somewhere to go or that I don’t have a photographer following me. Very natural, for sure. Just a day in the life.

IMG_2983

IMG_3013

IMG_2982

IMG_3019

All photos credit of Erin

// Follow Seeking Style //

Bloglovin’ // Facebook // Twitter

97 comments
  1. RoselyC said:

    Love the print and color of your jacket. And sucks you weren’t able to get the boots.

  2. Katie said:

    I love the outfit! Very cool!

  3. Love your style! 🙂 You’re so original! I’m your new follower on facebook(petra lorencova), hope you follow me back 😉 Kiss,

    http://www.lorietta.cz

  4. hahah sorry that you missed out on your boots but thats pretty hilarious that you hid a stole in a purse, the things we do!!!!!
    brooke @ what2wear

  5. Sammi said:

    I definitely believe in karma too, but I probably wouldn’t have even connected the dots about hiding something and then wanting something that’s hidden! Totally scary and unfortunate! I love this outfit you’re wearing though!!
    xox Sammi
    http://www.thesoubrettebrunette.blogspot.com
    (I’m following you now, so I’d love it if you’d consider following me back!!)

  6. I love the color of your jeans!
    Haha, the only time I ever hid something at a thrift store was when my friend and I found matching rose necklaces that we wanted to get as friendship necklaces, and the store in question only took cash, which neither of us had. So we snagged the necklaces and hid them on a high shelf so we could come back the next day to buy them.
    So far, Karma hasn’t bothered me about that. So maybe it never will.
    It’s so sad about those boots! I hate it when you find great shoes at thrift stores that either don’t have a match anywhere, or are a size too small. Or are ridiculously overpriced for being used shoes.

  7. Looks like I have to go to Forever 21;-) Love the outfit, you look really good in it.

    Ewelina
    xxx
    dublinchiclifestyle.blogspot.com

  8. Irene said:

    you look amazing! & totally understand you!! I have hidden so many things in shops but never found them back 😦

  9. Jen said:

    Ah, thrifting karma is the worst! But on the updside, your outfit here is fantastic! Love the raspberry shade of the jeans and the print on the jacket is great 🙂

  10. Hahaha love the karma lesson! And what a fun jacket and background!

  11. Ha ha so true I have experienced this kind of thing too!!

  12. Sofia said:

    Wow you found the right spot to take these pictures. Beautiful!
    If you get a sec, check out my latest post ‘Casual Meets Chic’. I would love to hear what you think of my new tweed skirt and how I styled it.

    Hope you had a great weekend.
    Sofia

    stylishlyinlove.blogspot.com

  13. Vanessa said:

    That is such a cute outfit! I love the red pants!

  14. what adorable style you have!

    Lydia Lange From Vintage2Vogue

    Stop by for a visit,

    wwww.vintagetwovogue.blogspot.com

  15. I’ve never hidden anything, but that explains why I find things in such weird spots! But hiding only one is strange- what if they toss the other one!?

    Marie @ Lemondrop ViNtAge
    I am having a fabulous giveaway right here.

  16. Inès said:

    i really love your look! those pants and jacket are great!! thank you for the visit on my blog last time and for the lovely comment!!!
    xoxo

  17. Faith said:

    Love your outfit! You are stunning!

  18. Grreeeeattt cardigan, love the graffiti on the wall too, totally goes so well with this playful effortless look! ❤ I just posted the FRONT ROW SHOTS I TOOK from the new GIVENCHY AW13-4 show. Yes, the photos aren't from Google, they were taken by me. It was my first Givenchy show so please do tell me what you think of it. It's not your average review I guarantee. Hope you're gonna be wonderfully PROVOKED 😉

    xx The Provoker
    http://www.the-provoker.com/2013/03/givenchy-future-feminism.html

  19. Jessica said:

    i’m totally obsessing over that jacket girl! love it!

    xo,
    anythingwithstuds.com

  20. Amanda said:

    Oh I did that onces I think everybody does it. But yeah it’s mean. I think that it’s worse when people hide books at the uni library. I do get that the people who do it are doing it because they cannot afford books but what about the rest of who can’t afford them? I hate when people hide books… But anyways I think u look so stunning! I specially love your jacket/blazer!

  21. jenny said:

    oh, i LOVE this outfit!

    wanderingsofalittlesoul.blogspot.de

  22. Louise said:

    As always you made me laugh! I would totally be broken up by something like this too! Love your cardigan/blazer thingie.

    xx

    liquoriceandpumps.blogspot.com

  23. Ashley said:

    Ooh, sorry you missed out on the boots (AND the fur stole, oy!). Your story made me laugh. 🙂

    Love the burgundy trousers- perfect!

    -Ashley
    http://lestylorouge.com

  24. Mandy said:

    Lovin’ this look. Your are so beautiful. I actually said out loud. “OMG that hair!”

  25. Fabulous look and pics, darling!
    Love those skinnies!

    xoxox,
    CC

  26. ivana said:

    What a fabulous outfit! I never hid anything in those stores and I usually have luck when I’m shopping in them. I do believe in karma:) and I like your story.

  27. Diana said:

    Love your pants and the cardigan! The outfit is great.

  28. Emma said:

    That always happens to me! I suppose I should stop hiding things, haha. I really love your pants. That’s such a lovely color. I like your casual walking poses– I never know what to do either! Except I’m using a remote, so I can’t really pretend it was all just coincidence…

  29. Rachel said:

    so true!!!! i come across so many things like this when I got ot thrift stores! I find that goodwill however can set stuff out incorrectly as well but probably a good idea to get your karma points back up 😀 also love this outfit! so wonderful! I love how you wear your hat so far back on your head 😀 my head has a funny slope so it always falls off if i do that! Silly shaped heads 🙂

    xoRach

  30. Jalecia said:

    Ahhh! Those pants! In love…

  31. heather said:

    Love the jacket. It looks amazing with the pants, shirt, shoes combo. I feel like it’s almost the glue holding it together 😉

  32. haha…that was so funny to read…karma is a bitch!
    Great post love and your outfit is just fab, casual and chic! 🙂

  33. Angie said:

    Loving this outfit, you look so chic (and very cool). Also, your hair is amazing. What are your secrets?

  34. Super cool look. Love the jacket. I do good stuff all the time but seems like karma doesn´t care about that hahaa.
    Would have never guessed to hide something that I would love to buy later. Sounds like a great idea 🙂

    xx

    glamdevils

  35. a. i love that we have all at some point hidden something at the thrift store to come back for later! only I’m with you, hide both shoes. and b. oddly enough i’m wearing a very similar outfit to this today and i am just now looking at this post. i feel fashion validated! 🙂

    christen
    fashionplatecheapskate.blogspot.com

  36. Maria said:

    Thank you very much for your lovely comment 🙂

    Wonderful outfit, I love burgundy pants! Wonderful colour 🙂

  37. Nikell said:

    I love love love that jacket!! (^_^)

  38. Nice outfit, love your jacket!
    So sorry about the boots! Take good care of your karma 😉
    xx

  39. Ahh this is great advice (especially for during thrifting!) xo

  40. Love your pants and hat! Looking amazing!

  41. What can I say. I would have to agree that karma IS a bitch some times.
    You look great in that burgundy jeans =)

  42. I love everything about this look! Gorgeous jacket, burgundy jeans and denim shirt, all beautifully put together, and the hat tops it all off beautifully! Awesome look, you look ace! xxx

  43. heather said:

    LOVE the jacket. Def. feeling the tribal feel to it.


    heather
    fashionistanygirl.com

  44. Mara said:

    such a great outfit! LOVE that jacket. Crossroads is really the best 🙂

  45. Tara said:

    So when I find an awesome pair of shoes in the housewares section someone is hiding them for later? There’s so much I need to know about thrifting.
    Tara
    Penniless Socialite

  46. These jeans are so cool! They look amazing on you. I love how perfectly this jacket pairs with them too.

  47. Oh girl, this outfit is awesome! Love that hat on you and I’m sorry about the boot fiasco, what a dick, if someone did infact hide the other boot!

  48. Wow. I like them colors all together and jacket is such a lovely taste ! Thank You for visiting my blog I became Your proud follower via Bloglovin 🙂 Have a nice day

  49. Loved the list, have been to Italy twice and loved it. Been a few years do so will have to back again in the future. A point for travellers to remember, there is a new tax of €3 per night in hotels, etc,, this is seperate to room rates.

I adore each comment!

