A night at the drive in

 // Follow Seeking Style //

Bloglovin’ // Facebook // Twitter

I love the drive in. The last movie, before this night, that I saw at the drive in was Dick Tracy. That tells you how long it has been since I have been to a drive in. I have been begging Ugly Mug to go to a drive in with me for years. 6 years, 11 months, and 8 days if you need an exact number. Being a movie buff, he never understood drive ins and didn’t know why someone would want a lesser movie experience, sound and screen wise. Of course, the second someone else brings it up, he agrees. That’s how it usually happens, right? As long as it got him to go, though!

IMG_4524_out

IMG_4570_out

IMG_4593_out

// Top, Jacket, Jeans: Urban Outfitters // Shoes: Thrifted via Thrift Town // Hat: Forever 21 //

I wish I was that person who dressed to match where they were. Do you read Tieka’s blog, Selective Potential? She has the ability, or patience really, to dress to match her surroundings. Sometimes planned, sometimes not. Unfortunately, if I try and plan to do that, I have a harder time getting dressed and begin to stress out. And it’s stressing out over something so minoot and stupid. I really did want to dress in a 50’s theme for this night, but to forego stress, I went for something simple and casual. Also, I’ve been living in this crop top, so it made it easier.

IMG_4555_out

IMG_4596_out

Collage1

Oh and it sure got cold this night. Even with the jackets and blankets we brought, I was shivering all night long. Luckily, the boys were nice enough to sit outside after the first movie and let the girls inside the back of the truck. With all the blankets, pillows, and warmth, we ended up falling asleep ten minutes into the second movie, but I wasn’t as into that movie as the first. So not into it that I cannot even remember what movie it was now! Falling asleep meant that I missed getting my giant drive in theater hot dog, so I must get us all back this summer. Truthfully, I am more concerned about the food when I go out more than anything else.

Collage2

I wish I could take ownership of this truck. We asked one of our drive in neighbors if we could borrow his truck for a little photo session, because as you can see, some of us did dress for the night.

IMG_4554_out

IMG_4565_out

Collage3

All outfit photos credit to Ugly Mug Photography.

IMG_4587_out

 // Follow Seeking Style //

Bloglovin’ // Facebook // Twitter

43 comments
  1. Kari said:

    How fun! I’ve been wanting to go to the drive-in for years now, too. This got me excited about it again. Once the weather is nicer, we’re going. During the day, they have a giant swap meet in the parking lot that looks like a lot of fun, too. Love the outfit!

  2. Carina said:

    Amazing photos, such a good location for outfit pics!! Looks like you had a good time 🙂 I wish we had such a drive in cinema here, but they are not really popular in Germany, bummer!

  3. I really, really want to go to a drive in! Sounds like a fun time, cold but fun.

  4. Jen said:

    Aww, glad you finally made it to a drive-in, even if it had to be at someone else’s request 😉 Loving the mix of camo and stripes! xo

  5. Louise said:

    It looks like a lot of fun, I hope you can drag you boy there again 😛 You look cute!

    xx

    liquoriceandpumps.blogspot.com

  6. Leah said:

    love your style and photography! that top is awesome, you look so cute!! xx
    thefrillseekers.blogspot.com

  7. Jackie said:

    I love everything about how retro this post was. I’m sure you had such a great time!

    – Jackie
    somethingaboutthatthing.blogspot.com

  8. mili said:

    Can’t begin to explain how much in love I am with your outfit. If I could look good in a crop top stripey top, I would so want to copy it head to toe. And drive in movie theater? Count me in (although it would be my first time…)

    Mili from call me, Maeby

  9. this has got to be the cutest date ever, and you definitely look the part!

  10. Ashley said:

    These pictures of you are gorgeous 🙂 Love the high waisted pants too!

    xo Ashley
    thetiniestfirecracker.com

  11. Kat said:

    Gorgeous photos – love that striped shirt. Looks like you guys had a great time! x, Kat

    Love and Ace

  12. Marloes said:

    Ohh I’m loving this location, such a cool vibe! And your top is amazing.

  13. Oh, I think that’s so super awesome that you went out of your way to ask to take pictures in that car–they turned out awesome! And such a neat little car that is. 🙂

  14. Ester said:

    Such a cool outfit! Love your striped shirt 🙂
    Have a nice weekend!

  15. I ADORE going to the Drive-in. We have one here, but it usually plays movies I’m not as into (“family-friendly” I guess you’d call them?)

    Those pants with that shirt- fantastic!

I adore each comment!

