Friday favorites

// Follow Seeking Style //

Bloglovin’ // Facebook // Twitter // Pinterest

‘Muerica edition.

Apologizing in advance for this last minute thrown together post. I spent yesterday celebrating America’s (and my grandfather’s 90th) birthday with food, family, and fireworks and I spent today traveling. I am patting myself on the back for actually getting this up while it is still Friday. Haven’t broken my streak yet!

  • Listen to this: Gretchen Wilson “Here for the Party”. Country music: You either love it or you hate it, but you cannot deny that it is as American as apple pie. You will never feel more American than you do at a bar, beer in hand, dancing to a country song. Go ahead, do it. You’ll like it.
  • Read this: Declaration of Independence in Modern Language. I suppose it is important for citizens to know their country’s history. Kind of. Maybe. And let’s be honest, who the hells knows how to read that old timey language?! This is also funny: “You’re Know You’re in America When...” I love these types of lists. I stumbled upon this list complied by foreign exchange students studying in the U.S. about their observations of Americans.

DOI - Hancock's Defiance

  • Watch this: Macy’s 4th of July Fireworks Spectacular. You cannot celebrate America’s birthday without fireworks. If I had a video of my dad’s backyard firework show, I would share it, but unfortunately I do not, meaning, unfortunately, you do not get to see a firework accidently being thrown into my 13 year old cousin’s lap. I’ll leave you with the one of the next best things.
  • Eat this: Hot Dogs. Yup, plain and simple. Not an American summer BBQ will go by me without enjoying a hot dog. I perfer mustard and relish, but sometimes I pile it on. Sometimes I might go to Costco just to have a hot dog. I don’t think anyone can blame me for that. This ruben hot dog is  calling my name.

reuben-dog-ictcrop_gal

  • Wear this: Denim cut offs. Not only is this pure American, but it’s just an obvious choice for summer in general. Threadsence is my go to for denim cut offs. Pst, the pair below is on sale.

5406

  • Blog love: Squirrel & Walrus. I follow a lot of bloggers not based in the U.S., but I did just discover Emma’s blog, and she resides in Hawaii, the resident getaway locale. I love her mix of feminine and edgy, a look that I try to replicate at times. Emma is a total cutie and the name of her blog alone makes me adore her.

Emmapolka9

Friday Fail!

Double fail because I do not have a ‘Murica fail.

Um, so cute, right?

IMG_6310_out

// Follow Seeking Style //

Bloglovin’ // Facebook // Twitter // Pinterest

10 comments
  1. Amanda said:

    Hope you had a great forth of July ; )

  2. Love this post, hope you had an awesome fourth of July! xx

  3. theclothespaper said:

    Nice post!

  4. Great links, I love fireworks, hope you enjoyed yourself. Thanks for the intro to Emma’s blog as well. /Madison

  5. Bree said:

    I am so happy you just introduced me to that blogger, she is gorgeous and has such great style! x

I adore each comment!

