Donut be sad // Frosting Queens

 

// Follow Seeking Style //

Bloglovin’ // Facebook // Twitter // Pinterest

I know it’s Friday. I know this is not a Friday Favorites post. Truthfully, I am getting a bit bored with the Friday Favoites series. I always end up scrambling to put them together last minute, often times trying to come up with something to share as I am typing it. I may change the format of it, or scrap it all together, but I need a bit of a break from how I have been doing it.

I don’t mean to break your hearts (do you get the pun in my title now?), but I made you some donuts to make up for it. That’s right, eat your feelings. That’s how I cope with sadness too. And happiness.

I love to bake and I have always wanted to attempt homemade donuts, because sometimes you just need a donut, but don’t want to be embarassed and buy them in public alone, wearing boyfriend jeans and an oversized sweatshirt and jacket without a bra. Instead, you want to whip them up at home super quick while wearing boyfriend jeans, and an oversize sweatshirt without a bra, but no jacket because the frying oil is make you very warm.

Not that that is what I was wearing. It’s just an example.

IMG_0463

IMG_0488

IMG_0480

I usually bake from scratch but since I had some help from The Frosting Queens with their chocolate and vanilla all natural, ready to use frosting, I decided to take another shortcut and use Pillsbury Grands Homestyle biscuits. Just heat up about a half inch of oil in a pan and flip the biscuits when they are golden brown. It only takes a minute or so on each side.

And then I filled the donuts with frosting.

I said, “And then I filled the donuts with frosting.” I then proceeded to die a little with my first bite.

Super easy. Super quick. Super delicious.

IMG_0484

IMG_0483

To be honest, I am very weary of store bought frosting. I always, always make my own, even if everything else is a short cut. The Frosting Queens ready to use frostings passed my test. And they are a local Sacramento company, so they get bonus points for that.

Be sure to check out The Frosting Queens and check out a few other bloggers HERE who tested out the frosting as well! FeelFreeToRepinMineSoICanWinAWholeFoodsGiftCard, KThanks.

IMG_0497

Also, I learned a lesson. When you steal your fiance’s camera, be sure to bring an extra battery or the battery charger because when the battery dies in the middle of a shoot and said fiance will not be in town for 4 more days, you will have to go buy a battery charger. And it will frustrate you. The holidays are not a time to be frustrated. But do you know how to cope with that frustration? That’s right, by eating a donut.

// Follow Seeking Style //

Bloglovin’ // Facebook // Twitter // Pinterest

13 comments
  1. Jamie Rose (Petite Panoply) said:

    Mmm those donuts look so delicious. I could really go for one of those right now!
    I completely understand where you’re coming from about the favorites posts. I do mine on Thursdays but slacked on them the past month or so. I decided I’d just post one when I’d accumulated enough things to share and/or have time to write one and that seems to be working for me lately.

  2. Jen said:

    Wow, your recipes are always so tempting! These look incredible 🙂

I adore each comment!

