Seeking Health

// Follow Seeking Style //

Bloglovin’ // Facebook // Twitter // Pinterest

I am one of those people who look forward to breakfast the night before. I find it weird because I don’t make anthing spectacular or go out to breakfast often; I just always look forward to eating!

Your diet accounts for a large portion of your health; it is about a ratio of 80/20 with your exercise routine. How many times growing up did your mom tell yout that breakfast is the most important meal of the day? Probably everyday. I was raised to always, always eat breakfast before leaving for school, whether I am hungry or not. And I did. I grew up eating cereal for breakfast, which is still one of my favorite foods today, unfortunately it is not the healthiest with all the added sugars. So, although I would love to eat sugary cereals everyday for breakfast, I’ve had to find an alternative.

That’s where my love of oats come in! I can make my own, healthy cereal each morning. I used to hate plain oatmeal, then I realized I can add my own healthy ingrediants to make oatmeal taste even better than the packaged oatmeal.

I am not a food blogger by any means, so excuse my food photography. I like how I begin with photographing oatmeal; one of the most boring, ugly foods in history!

Below are my three favorite ways to prepare oatmeal for a healthy, filling breakfast!

Granola

One of my favorite granola recipes can be found at the Pastry Affair blog. Tradionally, granola does tend to have a lot of sweetener and oil, so when I am making homemade granola, I do play with recipes and add less sweeteners and oil. That tends to mean less clumps of granola that stick together, but I think it is still plenty sweet. Remember, you can always add more, but you cannot take it out of the mix once you put it in. Granola recipes are really easy to play around with! If you aren’t very good in the kitchen, a store brand that I enjoy is Glutenfreeda.

One tip with granola, if you do make or buy a higher sugar content granola, I mix it with plain oats to make it go further. Granola serving sizes tend to be a bit small for me. A fourth of a cup will not fill me up at breakfast!

healthy breakfast oatmeal seeking health seeking style breakfast recipe how to make oatmeal homemade breakfast what to eat for breakfast

Banana Plum Oatmeal

This is a super easy “recipe” to make your own. I mix 1/2 cup of oats with 1/2 cup water and a mashed banana. I stir in some cinnamon or pumpkin spice mix, splash in some maple extract and top it with a scoop of my Uncle’s homemade plum jam. Sometimes I add in peanut butter and make it more of a PB&J oatmeal. I eat this hot often, but love it as cold, overnight oats as well. Following the same recipe, just seal it up and leave it in the refrigerator overnight.

I do definitely recommend trying it with the scoop of jam on top. Or a scoop of both peanut butter and jam and have them melt a bit on the warm oats. Almost drooling just thinking of it now!

healthy breakfast oatmeal seeking health seeking style breakfast recipe how to make oatmeal homemade breakfast what to eat for breakfast

Smoothies

Everyone is all about smoothies nowadays, so why not throw some oats in them! This is like the other recipes: super flexible. I basically throw whatever we have on hand in the Magic Bullet and let it blend. Sometimes I have to add more liquid, sometimes more fruit for more flavor. The base is 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 cup oats and 1/2 cup frozen fruit. Sometimes I throw in a bunch of almonds, a scoop of peanut butter, or some protein powder. You could blend up some oats and throw them in any smoothie recipe that you already use; it is a good way to add some good whole grains.

healthy breakfast oatmeal seeking health seeking style breakfast recipe how to make oatmeal homemade breakfast what to eat for breakfast

Disclaimer: No, I do not eat the hull of the strawberries. That was purposefully an artistic decision. I am such a wannabe.

What is your favorite healthy breakfast?

If I am not eating oatmeal in the morning, I am eating boring eggs on toast! Or when I visit home, some very yummy, very sugary cereal!

// Follow Seeking Style //

Bloglovin’ // Facebook // Twitter // Pinterest

12 comments
  1. I am so glad to hear that i am not the only one! I just can’t leave house without breakfast even if it means i am going to be late. I am not really a food person but i just adore breakfast and oat meal with fruits are my favorites! I am skinny quite naturally but i have noticed that my mood depends a lot on what i eat and since i work out everyday it also gives me necessary energy.xx
    great post i loved it!
    Nitabiti

    • I definitely always have some type of carbs (even if it’s not from oats) with my breakfast to give me energy in the morning!

  2. haha i’m the same way, all excited for breakfast the evening before. i’m an oatmeal girl: mostly with almond milk, a chopped up apple and either raisins or dates with lots of cinnamon. if i wanna switch things up, i eat some greek yoghurt with either blueberries, raspberries or strawberries, add lots of nuts, some goiji berries and cocoa nibs! oh, and tea. always tea!
    xo, cheyenne

    • I have done it that exact same way! Have you tried an “apple pie” overnight oats? 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup applesauce (unsweetened), 1/2 water, toss in some cinnamon, vanilla and extra chopped apples… so good! Heated or chilled!

  3. Jen said:

    I’m a huge breakfast fiend as well! Thanks for all the yummy, healthy, colourful ideas. Have a great weekend, Jennifer! xo

    • Your blog name interested me (because breakfast, duh haha) so I clicked and you are so cute!! 🙂

I adore each comment!

